We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$175
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$165
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$158
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tamati Whaanau

Just ok

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2024
Budget as! Clean enough. Ok to stay at if you want something cheap but still not cheap enough for what you get. Needs a good makeover, not like it was 5 years ago. Showers need a good scrub, no Skytv not even at bar to watch rugby. Used the pool, was clean but leaves everywhere grounds could do with a caretaker to tidy up leaves. Beds uncomfortable for me but was still clean enough. Looked in the gym, needs a clean and tidy, build up of dust and smells old and dusty really. Only stayed as was cheapest place left in Palmy. Rest were double the price
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $140
0.1 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
$207
  • Priceline
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $207
0.3 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom family unit lounge
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $169
0.1 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Priceline
    $175
1.0 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.2 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
2 bedroom lounge/kitchen
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Trip.com
    $159
0.5 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free parking
Room service
Booking.com
$174
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $174
  • eDreams
    $174
1.3 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$127
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $118
0.2 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $159
1.2 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$173
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
    $173
1.8 km from Distinction Coachman Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
65
106
71
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
106
71
29
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

The booking was in the motel but I didn’t realise this from the booking process. Even the reception to get the key is in the hotel side so not sure how this happened. Pictures on the site at booking time showed the hotel. The motel room was in a poor state of repair and very dated and doesn’t have air conditioning so on a hot day it’s an oven even with it all open. Wouldn’t stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank biologix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

No aircon?!?!?
Hotel looked great online and the Distinction brand great so I booked a standard room for $160 despite others in the street being $15-30 cheaper. Room 108. What disappointed me, was that in 2024 the room had no aircon. Which is a must in the middle of summer. I slept with the windows open and because of that had a cockroach for company! TV was old school with just a few channels. No Sky as far as I could tell as remote’s channel changer only went up not down… 😬. Room a bit dated too and bed tired, I think a basic change for them would be to at least tell you when checking in that the room doesn’t have aircon. All the cheaper ones in the street did after all, along with 50 Sky channels I discovered by looking at the signs outside other motels whilst going for a run. Motel and room was quaint, I just think they need to update those rooms as there was no value for money there, especially with so much choice on Fitzherbet Ave.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

The room was dark and dated, the water came out orange in the bath tub. in the bathroom the bath coating is pealing away. There is no aircon only a floor fan which was full of dust, room was muggy. We won't be back.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Dream12012744446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

The room was old and tired and looks like was built in the 1970s and hasn't been renovated since. Minimal amenities. There was a spider web holding up the lamp in the corner. Could use a spruce up and a good clean.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Medieval level lighting
Bathroom like a rainforest
Decor of a retro adult movie set.
Had a pretty good sleep though, so that was nice.
Probably suit a last minute booking like we did for some where to sleep, just bring some reef shoes for the bathroom.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wander25565808165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews