We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away but worth the effort”

Joseph Street Kitchen
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We looked this place up and decided it was worth a go. Family in PN had never heard of it, let alone found it. It is tucked away on the finge of semiindustrial, semi-residential PN. On site parking is 4 spaces, parking on the street is plentiful, however in consideration of neighbours park where everyone has access to their driveways.
In we went, it's a grab a table, and a menu then order at the counter establishment. Wasn't busy on the Saturday we tried JSK out, but did fill up as the morning went on. Coffee is good, good enough for a second cup, brought to the table and, on the second delivery, presented without the 'who is having what?' question.
Food was good, bacon was not over cooked, nor over salty. Eggs clearly free range and healthy option, bread appears to be baked on the premises and you can buy a loaf on the way out - GF is the order of the day.
Downside? Kids - recently in the news in NZ - arrived in droves. Some parents were good, others simply not. We - and it has to be said two other couples - left.
To be fair it's not the cafe's issue, and we had finished anyway.
All up tidy, presentable, good service, good food, clean, warm and friendly. All you can wish for in a good cafe.
Well done JSK.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Very different to what I expected. I had heard tonnes of good things for this place. The menu wasn't as expansive as I prefer, but the food was very good! There were 3 or 4 soup options and I chose the leak and potato with the optional garlic buns - OMG - the soup was incredible and the garlic buns were dripping in garlic butter which is exactly what I wanted on the day. My friend had the spinach pie thingie with salad and that was also apparently good. Coffee was great and this is always important. Quirky surrounds but a place that could easily become a local hang-out for many. I would definitely go again.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank kiwikessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

a rustic environment, friendly staff, great food and service spells a very good experience. Cafe with a difference.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

This cafe has it all, quirky rustic setting. Great indoor and outside seating options. Adorable staff, excellent coffee, and food!
Definitely my Palmerston North #1

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OwnerEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Our family took us to this well known cafe for lunch - they know the owner Michael. Set in a suburban street with no other shops around. It's easy to drive past and in fact looks a bit like an old factory!
Entering it's quite funky and quaint - odd shaped chairs - most of them hanging from the ceiling! Open kitchen with a busy atmosphere too.
We had a simple lunch of soup and JSK toast (homemade bread). Some of us had the pumpkin soup and some had potato and leek - and it was just delicious! Generous serves, homemade, chunky soups and much appreciated by this hungry lot. Great coffee to finish. Well worth seeking out.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank 728MariaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph Street Kitchen also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Joseph Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing