We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant - open Sunday!”
Review of Table 188 - CLOSED

Table 188
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Keep in mind very few places are open on Sundays in Palmy. This place has an excellent vibe and friendly staff. The starters were fresh and the wine list extensive. The menu is also varied enough to please vegetarians and carnivores... though vegans and ceoliacs will have trouble. The scotch fillet was wonderful as well as the calamari entrée. The saffron pasta was average- a bit heavy and the gentle saffron flavour in the pasta was over powered by the cream sauce. The bruschetta starter was fantastic!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank shawn_wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

We went to dinner after work one evening and had a nice meal - I ordered steak which was tender and juicy, with market vegetables. The service was initially a bit indifferent, however, things did improve as the dinner progressed. Once again, there was no room for dessert. Am not sure if I will return - time will tell!

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank JayP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

I've been here a few times since living in Palmy - it's always been fantastic. The steak is always cooked to perfection, highly recommend for a nice meal.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank jhamil202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Table 188. The service was attentive and humorous and the food delicious. 3 of us had the special which was the 24 hour cooked beef cheeks - outstanding flavour and oh so tender. One had the fish dish - although tasty he felt there was insufficient fish on the dish. We would definitely go again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynne780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Five dined last Saturday. A very full restaurant but large party finished shortly after our arrival. We were up , noisy at first but great improvement after large party left. Four had starters, all said very good. they were quite large servings.
I had rib eye and asked for very rare, my wife had rib eye medium. We were both pleasantly surprised as we got exactly what we ordered. Fish, chicken and venison were the other orders. We were a very happy party of five. Keep up the good standard. The wait staff were excellent, friendly and happy.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Table 188 also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.