We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
45
16
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
16
3
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

This was the most equipped stop we had clean and basic full shower and bathroom in room.
Bed very comfortable air con breakfast light provided. Microwave in room and plunger coffee plenty of towels fresh milk soap good shower.
Nice owner/manager showed us our room pointed out how the electronic key worked for after hours entry.
Nice big kitchen for others to use well thought out and delivered.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thank you so much for great feedback. With the travelling you guys have done and all your reviews, this is important to us. Hope to see you again. Garry Young.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Needed a place to stay in Palmerston North at very short notice. Barry was very helpful, even picked me up from the airport and dropped me off the next morning.

Had a very good sleep. Great backpackers.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for the nice compliment. Barrie dropped me off at the airport then picked you up. Always a pleasure. Garry Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I attended Massey Uni for three weeks to complete a Masters degree & stayed at this Backpackers in a ladies bunk room. I don't normally do reviews, but felt this place is exceptional and warranted a mention. Barrie was a very caring Host. I haven't stayed in many places like this but felt it was more Hotelish than Hostel. The rooms supplied everything including tea, coffee snacks and a light breakfast, all in the rate. Beds were very comfortable. There is no Curfew here, safety is good and guests have a security disc to exit and enter the building 24hours.

Room tip: Ladies Bunk room is good
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yunwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Thank you for staying with us Wu Yun and hope the rest of your trip is successful. Garry Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

I'll start with the positives...the owners were friendly, the facilities clean, the wifi worked and basic breakfast was provided. But the whole place felt dark and depressing. The building is run down and in a somewhat dingy corner of town. The worst was the mattress. The metal strings pressed through the mattress so hard that going to bed at night felt more like torture than rest. I would definitely not stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gretak45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry Y, Director of Sales at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Oh Wow.
I'm so sorry to here about your experience, but you have reviewed the wrong Backpackers,. WE are in the CBD of Palmerston North, not a Dingy part of the City, the Backpacker part of the building certainly isn't run down or Dingy. We have no springs that stick out of mattresses. If you did stay and didn't tell someone about your mattress at the time, that's insane. The Hostel is done out in a concept to suit the 114 year old protected trust building. You would have seen & understood that if you had stayed here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Staff were nice,been here a few times now. travelled for holiday with friends. would stay again as Palmerston North is very central to other places. Stock car weekend was great. Have booked again next year. Phillip alpress

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilA1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews