We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$260
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$236
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$217
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Perry B
Sydney, Australia

Very Good in March!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2022
This was the first time that I had stayed in the more modern Tower wing of the Distinction. I arrived late at night and found the check in procedure smooth. The room was cheerful and well appointed. I was thoroughly rested the next morning.
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: The Tower block rooms are very good, although i do love the Heritage ones.
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Priceline
    $175
0.3 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
$207
  • Priceline
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $207
0.8 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $181
  • Priceline
    $181
0.8 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Priceline
    $140
0.9 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$174
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $174
  • eDreams
    $174
1.2 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom family unit lounge
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $169
1.1 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$127
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $118
0.8 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom lounge/kitchen
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Trip.com
    $159
1.4 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free parking
Room service
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Hotels.com
    $159
1.1 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$173
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $173
2.0 km from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
133
187
96
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
133
187
96
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older part the air conditioning breakfast buffet new zealand cuba palmy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

Really impressed with the Distinction Palmerston North, Cuba Street. The room was very spacious, large king bed which was extremely comfortable and an amazing huge bathroom with super relaxing spa bath. I had to do some work so desk set up worked a treat and no problems with the internet access.

My room was on second floor, super dark and quiet for sleeping. Breakfast buffet was as you would expect for offerings and tasty.

Staff very welcoming, polite and friendly. Parking easy to access and very safe.

Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank JudithN179
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2022 via mobile

Comfortable stay overall but shower curtain around a bath will always end up with water everywhere in the bathroom and no genuine aircon in room do a fan is provided which I used all night. Breakfast has a coffee machine with only 3 settings: mocha, long black, espresso. First attempt at the long black left no room for milk and the milk jug either didn't pour when you were careful or poured all over the floor when you weren't. I tried the espresso next and the coffee was cold. Now that I had poured milk all over the floor, there would be a wait for cappuccino which was at an extra cost to me. After being canceled on flights out of Palmerston North the previous day I was pretty over it and decided to head to the airport to get a coffee.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KrissytinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We visisted for a weekend and were amazed at how reasonable the prices were, especially for the quality of room and hotel. It was a great weekend, the room was large, king size bed and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a few drinks in the bar, the location was central to town, the staff were friendly, even opening the bar early for us on a public holiday!! Very much appreciated. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear Lynne M
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. Feedback is very important to us and it is always encouraging to receive 5 stars.
I am pleased you had a great weekend and that your room was comfortable. We have recently been upgrading a range of our beds in some of the rooms and we expect this will have a further positive impact on our guest experience. Again we really appreciate your time and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Dirty coffee cups had to wash to use shocking restaurant experience was terrible no one in there waited forever for service asked for gin ran out the night before ordered food took forever and prawns were horrible ordered ice cream desert had to ask several times before it arrived have stayed here many times usually not to bad but this stay was shocking really really disappointed I doubt we’ll return

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shey770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to read your review regarding your recent stay at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. All of the issues you have mentioned are based on service delivery and we just need to be better than what you have experienced. I have followed this up with the kitchen team already and I will be speaking to the housekeeping and restaurant teams about your review. Feedback is an important part of our improvement process and I do appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity and if you contact me directly I would like to personally ensure your next stay would be a positive one.
Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

Fab, quiet location steps away from cafes, restaurants and shops. Free secure parking.

We had an older style room, was a bit dated but spotlessly clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable and had super blackout curtains. Shower was over a bath with a curtain. Price point of $153 (booking.com) was on par with the room and cheaper to book online than through the hotel.

Staff were awesome. Was able to park early and check in a tad earlier. They even found a phone charger for me when I forgot mine. Thanks guys, would stay again.

Room tip: Ask for one of the newer refurbished rooms
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Dear RocheMaree
It is always excellent to receive 5 star reviews and I will be celebrating this with the team. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Distinction Palmerston North and you have highlighted that the staff were awesome. We work hard to provide a level of service that provides our customers with a positive experience and it is nice to know when this hard work pays off. Our rates should be the same across all channels and it is disappointing to read that you could obtain cheaper rates on Booking.com. This is not generally the case and I will look into why this has happened on this occasion. I would like to thank you for your all important feedback and for providing the hotel with your encouraging review.
All the best with your future hotel stays.
Very Best Regards Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews