We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$272
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$204
Fully refundable before Wed, 6 Mar
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
131
186
96
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
186
96
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews older part the air conditioning breakfast buffet new zealand cuba palmy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2020

The room was lovely. Both my colleague and I who both stayed there on business commented on how comfortable the bed was. Slept like a baby. Highly recommend.

We also enjoyed a nice meal in the evening and breakfast was good too.

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diddymonsta038
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Dear diddymonsta038
Thank you for the 5 star review! It is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and let others know when our guests enjoy their hotel experience.
We hope to host you again in the near future.
Very Best Regards
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Booked a tower twin room for 2 adults & 2 children.
Check in process fast and smooth. Very limited onsite parking.
The room was of a small size with 2 double rather than 2 queen beds. Very dated with bedspreads that need a good clean.
The bathroom is tiny dated. The plastic surround on the toilet cistern buttons was cracked and broken. Shower water pressure is terrible and the shampoo and conditioner from the previous guest was not removed.
Aside from the outlet for the kettle/jug the only powerpoints were under the bedside table which was a bit awkward to access.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and the manager friendly and helpful.
Overall the hotel needs a throughly good clean inside and out, the tattered New Zealand flag hanging out the front sets the tone for a hotel that needs some time and money spent on it.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank KerrynL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear Kerryn

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide the hotel with all important feedback.
Great to see that check in was fast and efficient and that your breakfast experience was positive.
The Tower Twin rooms are advertised as 2 Double Beds and generally are a good size room. Our other property in Palmerston North the Distinction Coachman Hotel does offer larger family units with separate bedrooms which can be better suited depending on your requirements.
I was disappointed to read your comments about the cleanliness and maintenance of your room. There is no excuse for this level of presentation and I have already followed up with housekeeping regarding the room and the overall presentation of the hotel. Cleanliness is such a key aspect of our business and there is a large focus on this from the entire team.
A very good point on the Flag, well over due to be replaced. Again I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention and please be assured that we are working on the overall presentation of the hotel.
I wish you all the best with your future travels and would like to thank you for supporting the Industry by staying with us.
Stay well
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Check in was very fast and the staff were efficient. The car parking was free and very secure as you used your room key to enter the gated park. We stayed on the first floor and our room was very spacious, the closet was sliding glass mirror doors which I found very nice to do my makeup and hair in the morning. The bathroom was pretty average but it did the trick. The only fault I could give this place is that the outside seems quite dated compared to the inside.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rqueen944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2020

Dear Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. Feedback is an important part of our improvement process and it is always pleasing to receive positive reviews.
I will be sharing your review with the team as we like to celebrate our successes. (especially this year)!
We are holding off on the frontage at this stage as we have plans to redo a lot of the outside materials and would like to do this properly but you are right it is showing it's age.
I wish you all the best with your future travels and hope that we can welcome you again if you are travelling to Palmerston North.
Warm Regards
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Booked and paid for 3 people. Booked a tower room with Queen bed and pull out sofa. Went to check in and was told that I couldn't have one of those rooms as didn't specify that I needed a sofa made up. I'm confused, did they think we were all staying in the same bed??? Anyway, the guy on the counter couldn't have cared less and said we had to shift to another room, supposedly with a queen bed and a double bed. Sounded okay but no such luck, certainly no queen bed in that room! Later when we got back to the room we discovered there were only 2 towels, 2 glasses, 2 mugs etc. When I brought this up the next morning on checkout the guy also couldn't care less, said it was a housekeeping error. Still not sure why I had to pay for the 3rd person???

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hi Jason D

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to read your comments and the way the staff have handled your entire stay. The room you were booked into has a Queen bed and pull out sofa which was prepared for your arrival. The staff member that checked you in hasn't followed through on checking the room was prepared but instead has opted to move you to one of our twin rooms that has 2 double beds. As these rooms are already made up for 2 people and it was not the room you were originally allocated there would not be any extra toweling set up.
I would like to personally apologise for the service you have received and for the error made by our staff. In regards to the rate you were booked on a bed and breakfast package and that is why you paid for the 3rd person. Generally you wouldn't pay for extra people in the room unless you have a package deal. To say you were ripped off is incorrect but you definitely did not receive the level of service you would expect from our team and again I would like to personally apologise for this. I can assure you Jason D that I will be following up with all staff involved in the incident to ensure we get it right going forward.
Stay well and stay safe.
Kind Regards
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Taking a week of work in mid winter to travel around the lower north island the Distinction Palmerston North was our last stop. I have to say for the price I wouldn't repeat my stay. The reception was good but it went downhill from there. We stayed in a Tower standard twin room .Once you leave the the elevator you are greeted with the most worn out uncleaned carpet I have ever come across in a hotel. What I can only assume were the breakfast dishes of our next door neighbours were outside his door at 2 .30 in the afternoon. They were still there at 9.30 the next morning when we left. The whole floor is very run down and in need at least of a good clean. This is not a budget hotel so needs to present its self as such.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dean Nicol, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Dear Gary M
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback from your recent stay.
Very disappointing to read that on your last night of your journey we have not provided you with a stay that met your expectations. The areas you have highlighted are issues that we can quickly rectify.
It is encouraging to see you have scored the service high and that the front office team provided you with a warm welcome.
I appreciate your comments Gary M and I have followed up with the team on how we can be better going forward.

Thanks for getting out and supporting our industry and I can only hope that you would give us another opportunity if you were travelling through this way again.

Very Best Regards
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews