We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
108
175
87
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
175
87
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking room service staff were pleasant and helpful modern hotel business hotel check in was easy twin room good size would stay again heat pump bed and pillows lamb shank centre of town free wifi central location across the road heritage
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Good hotel in the center of Palmerston North close to everything ( not that much) available in the city. Big room, clean and extremely kind personnel.
No complain... just a normal shower would be better than the chair! Nice bar, wonderful breakfast!
Cost/quality ok!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Guid0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Good Morning Dr Giusti,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and location of the hotel within close walking distance to the city centre and convention centre. It is lovely to hear that all the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Today Lynn, the chef cooked the best omelette I’ve had in ages.
I travel a lot for work and order eggs most mornings - with an average success rate.
Today’s omelette was beautifully cooked (not rubber and not raw), just a little cheese, spinach & mushrooms. The perfect start.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank invisiblesilverspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your breakfast with us and the lovely words about our Chef Lynn. Lynn is a great asset to our team and it is fantastic to hear that she was able to start your day well. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A nice location If you need a place close to town and with quiet rooms it's a good place to get some sleep. Walking to town is easy as it's flat so no worries there. There is off road parking and all you need is your key card. Staff are very helpful and rooms are clean and tidy.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank RelaxedBoatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a comfortable nights sleep. We are fortunate enough to have a great location withing walking distance of the city centre but far enough away for a restful sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit and this time it was very disappointing. The welcome was average. We were told we could park in the car park. When we drove in there were no spaces. Wish they had just told us. We were on the first floor and it was a very dated room. Cold and carpet needs a good clean. The hairdryer (which was also a useless example of a hairdryer) fell off the wall, as did the toilet roll holder. The ironing board was really grimey and the pillows need replacing. The air con unit kept coming on periodically which was noisy. And the shower went hot and cold. You could also hear people walking above and water pipes. Very overpriced at $155 for the night and I would certainly not be staying here again. A real shame as the first time was lovely...on the second floor and I’m pretty sure the standard of the room was far better as we wouldn’t have had such high expectations on our second visit. On checkout I mentioned I wasn’t happy and the response was ‘sorry about that’ and that’s all. It felt like they didn’t really care. Sort yourselves out Distinction if you want return custom!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lifeofbec78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Lifeofbec78

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide the hotel with all important feedback. I was disappointed to read your comments and please be assured I am following up on these issues with the team.
We have 25 secure parks and when we are not full house they generally don't fill up. In the event that they do we always will try to offer alternatives such as directly in front of the hotel or our other unsecured park at the back of the hotel. I would encourage customers to advise us of the parking situation and let us offer a solution. The staff member on the night you arrived has failed to check the availability of the secure parks and I apologise for this misinformation and the inconvenience it has caused. The maintenance and room quality is unacceptable and again I would like to ensure you that we are following up on these issues. Customer experience is very important to myself and the team and I know we are better than this. I would really appreciate the opportunity to have you stay with us again and experience the level of service you would expect. Please contact me if you are returning back to Palmerston North as I would like to personally ensure your next stay is a positive one.

Very Best Regards
Dean Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Signage not obvious specially in the dark and with road works. parking on the street is not secure for vehicles maybe look at getting equal parking to equal rooms. Staff were friendly and welcoming and check in was easy. Lift to second floor did not look user friendly and carrying bags up to second floor not easy. Maybe have a lift operator on each shift for guests. There were 50 Steps to the second floor.
Cards to rooms did not always get instant access and had to stand and use the card several times to try and get in. Have a better card system for access.
Room was a little dated and heat pump did not work and blinking light was annoying and reaching the off switch is not easy for shortys. Roomy bathroom and bed was comfortable for a good nights sleep.
Great selection of breakfast delights and plates were kept hot for the hot breakfast selection.
During the day staff were not always easy to find and maybe have a call bell on the desk so it can be rang to alert staff someone is at the counter.

Room tip: rooms that do not go to the second floor as too many steps
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your stay in Palmerston North. We are disappointed that we did not fully meet your expectations for your stay and thank you for your suggestions. We have two different wings to the hotel and it sounds as though you booked to stay in our Heritage wing which was built in 1927 and is accessible by our heritage lift or stairs. I recommend staying in our Tower wing in future as this may be more suitable for your needs having been built in 2005 and is accessed by the modern electric lifts.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews