We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
106
173
87
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
173
87
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicecheck in was easytwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumpbusiness tripfree wifitown centre
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Beautifully restored old building. Friendly staff. Oldest lift in NZ as a feature. Great food at Nosh Restaurant. All up a great stay. For breakfast there are heaps of lovely cafes nearby. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank menzies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience in Nosh Restaurant. We have recently tweeked our menu to include a couple more favorites and it is great to hear that our guests are enjoying the selection.
The heritage lift is a lovely feature of the hotel having been originally installed in 1927. We are lucky enough to have a great technician from OTIS who has carefully maintained this and we hope to enjoy it for more years to come. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

One of the quietest places I’ve stayed,nice room,lovely staff.the food in the restaurant was so good,huge portions and the young girl that served us was so efficient,she was doing everything,from taking orders,delivering the meals and drinks but still found time to check everything was ok and all done in such a friendly manner with a smile.its true,a business is only as good as its staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank shey770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely dining experience in our Nosh Restaurant. We have great team of staff who enjoy making sure our guests feel welcomed and looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel staff were lovely, just wanted to make sure that was the first thing I mentioned!
But the hotel was very poor. I arrived with my toddler, elderly grandmother, and sister having previously arranged early check in and two seperate rooms. We’re told the room was ready... hauled our luggage up two flights of stair to find the room wasn’t ready. Hauled luggage back downstairs.
Was sent to another room. Wasn’t what I had booked. Hauled luggage again. Waited to be sent to yet another room. Hauled luggage again...Finally put luggage down in room. Went to bathroom to find a giant toe nail on the floor.
Room was very old fashioned, dim, smelt musty and had poor facilities. Did I mention THE TOENAIL?!
Will never stay again. My family had a great stay at a motor inn down the road though... for a much better price.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank JFortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback as we continually strive to exceed our guest expectations and we are disappointed to hear that we did not meet these. We are very sorry about the confusion with your room not being ready for your early arrival and being sent to the incorrect room. This was a genuine error from a room move due to being a full house the night before and the night of your stay.
We deeply regret that you found a toenail on the floor in your room as this is definitely not the high standard of cleanliness that we expect our team to provide for our guests. This issue is being brought up with the Housekeeping Manager and the housekeeper who cleaned your room.
We do hope that you would give us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service and product you would expect from Distinction Palmerston North Hotel.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Comfy beds & excellent showers - we had two different rooms as our first choice wasn't available on our first night. The first night in Heritage Superior was $50 dearer with no obvious improvements over the cheaper subsequent Heritage Standard room. On enquiry were told the dearer room had a bigger bathroom but this wasn't apparent to us. That bathroom had a shower over the bath which is not ideal for our aging knees. The second bathroom was ideal & roomy with a walk in shower. Both rooms were very poorly lit (although good lighting at the entry), with very low wattage bulbs in the bedside lamps & desk lamp - the only lighting in he room itself. Reading in bed required a torch. The tea/coffee making area was in a cupboard which had an interior light which didn't work. A friend staying in the same hotel had the hole in her cupboard for a light fitting but no fitting. Making a cuppa at night was tricky even with the entry light nearby. A surprise to find no bath gel among the toiletries, the first time we had ever encountered this - had to visit supermarket to buy some. Very welcoming & friendly staff. We had the breakfast deal so value for money was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one with good lighting
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerylN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Good Afternoon Beryl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay with us in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry you experienced some maintenance issues with your room. Thank you for bringing these to our attention so that we may rectify them.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

This is a very good location to stay in Palmerston. Close to the heart of the square. The stay was ok. The air conditioner took a bit to get of getting going due to the batteries being flat. The bathroom light also needed to he changed as it flickered when on. Also, there was a lack in towels, with only one issued to the room and no bath mat. I am sure this is just a one off though.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Warwick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Good Afternoon Warwick,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your stay in Palmerston North. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we are disappointed to hear that you had some issues with your room. We have spoken with the head housekeeper and she assures me this was a once off due to her being away this day. We have also changed the light bulb in this room. Thank you for advising us of this maintenance issue so that we could rectify this.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews