We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas(Palmerston North)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Palmerston North(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Arena Lodge(Palmerston North)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
106
172
87
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
172
87
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetmodern hotelbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizewould stay againbed and pillowsheat pumplamb shankfree wifibusiness tripcentre of town
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Helpful reception staff. Walkable to restaurants, museum, town. We were on fifth floor and had a great view of the city. Bed comfortable, room large, modern, clean and fresh. Bathroom a bit dated but functionable. Good value and plenty of cafes close by for that morning coffee. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the meal. Impressed with all the staff we met.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank MaggyTfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to have a great location in the city that is within walking distance to attractions and the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Manawatu again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Needing overnight accommodation we booked Distinction as it was central and provided breakfast. We needed an early check in to dress for a wedding and were given access from midday which helped a lot.
The premises are a bit dated but the tower room was a good size and the beds were extremely comfy.
Breakfast was good and we were happy with our choice.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank mike385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is great that our housekeeping team were able to get your room ready early for your arrival. It is also great to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep and found the beds cosy. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this motel for 1 night, arrived quite late but was welcomed very friendly.
The room was nicely refurbished and had soft carpet, a good shower and a great bed. I had a good sleep and pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank wlubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. We appreciate all guest feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to offer a 24 hour reception which allows us to look after our guests throughout the night and provide them with a friendly welcome after long day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

A lovely looking hotel which needs updating. We specifically asked for a quiet room but were given a first floor room opposite the door from the lift. The room had a street light pouring light into the room all night. The walls are thin so we heard what was happening in neighbouring rooms and the corridor. It was clean. The bad was comfortable. The reception were efficient.
Parking was free in a hotel car park with card entry/exit.
The hotel is central so we went out for a meal.
I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

I wasn’t very impressed when I arrived, the building looks tired and run down covered up with a bit of modern decor, dark and gloomy, I found it unclean, parking out the back and walking through a smokers area where butts were lying on the ground, gross
The restaurant Nosh...hhhmmm very very slow service and then when you order a drink that takes forever given there were only 4-5 tables dining. The food isn’t anything great, similar to rsa dining, I had the beef and prawn salad, although yummy flavours, I could’ve made this, my husband had lamb shanks that looked like they were boiled then covered in gravy.
Sorry Distinction I will be looking for alternative accommodation next time I’m in Palmy.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Good Afternoon Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and are sorry that you felt the service was slow in our Nosh Restaurant. Your comments have been passed along to our Chef and Food and Beverage Supervisor to make improvements where possible.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews