We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed the night passing through from Wellington to Taupo. This hotel was a good choice. Good beds, spacious rooms for a family eith two kids and nice front desk personell. Everything just as it should be. Recommended.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Good Evening Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in Palmerston North and choosing us as your choice of accommodation for your stopover. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the room meet the requirements for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North in the future.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    139
    70
    15
    7
See reviews for
50
92
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Good solid accommodation , no frills but modern. Great having a restaurant on site plus a bar. I had room service which was a good selection. Only thing that bugged me was the old elevator if you were one ones side of the building, very hit and miss whether it wanted to work. Otherwise great for business. Staff were great!

Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Good Afternoon Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and were able to take advantage of our room service menu.
I am sorry that you had some trouble with the lift and this was not working each time you wanted to use it. This lift requires both the internal and external doors to be closed properly to operate and many times these are left open. Our staff are always more than happy to go to the floor and close these so that the lift can be used.
We look forward to hopefully seeing you back at the hotel again.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is over 90 years old and that explains the high ceilings and spacious rooms. The staff were very attentive and courteous. In fact the whole stay was very enjoyable. A special feature of the hotel is the Waygood-Otis lift. I helped a couple who were hesitant to use the lift but do not be afraid - it is fun and safe. As you enter the lift you have to open the entrance doors and close it once inside. At the destination floor you have to open the doors again - so cute. This was a step back in time.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adesso2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Heritage features of the original hotel. The lift in our Heritage wing is the original lift that was installed in 1927 and to our knowledge it is the second oldest operational lift in the North Island. Whilst it is an older lift it has been the most reliable piece of equipment in the hotel during my time here and is very much a feature of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a night, and found the room to be spacious and well appointed. The staff were friendly and the old style lift was great fun.

The hotel is well placed in the centre of Palmerston North, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, but the room was quiet and we had a good night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and found the rooms to be comfortable and spacious. The lift in the Heritage wing of the hotel is the original lift that was installed in 1927 and from our knowledge is the second oldest operational lift in the North Island.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rongotea, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

My partner and I dropped in for a Friday night meal. We were told that only bar meals were available which was a disappointment but we elected to stay as it was nice and quiet. The meal -fish & chips, rather small ie one piece of nicely cooked fish some chips and side salad. During our meal we never once got asked if we would like a top up on our drinks or if every thing was ok. That waitress was dressed shall we say for comfort, this did not at all reflect the high standard the establishment projected. Overall a little disappointing.

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corinna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Good Afternoon Corinna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel in our Cuban Bar. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that our restaurant was closed on the evening you stopped in. We appreciate all guest feedback and your comments have been passed along to the appropriate department manager to address.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.8 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.2 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price range (per night): $88 - $169
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing