We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Destiny on Fitzherbert(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwi Studios Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drovers Motor Inn(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
102
171
82
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
171
82
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecure parkingroom servicestaff were pleasant and helpfulgeorge streetbusiness hotelthe air conditioningoutstanding customer servicetwin roomgood sizelocation is greatwould stay againbed and pillowsbuffet breakfastfree wifibusiness tripheat pumpcentre of town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is over 90 years old and that explains the high ceilings and spacious rooms. The staff were very attentive and courteous. In fact the whole stay was very enjoyable. A special feature of the hotel is the Waygood-Otis lift. I helped a couple who were hesitant to use the lift but do not be afraid - it is fun and safe. As you enter the lift you have to open the entrance doors and close it once inside. At the destination floor you have to open the doors again - so cute. This was a step back in time.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adesso2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the Heritage features of the original hotel. The lift in our Heritage wing is the original lift that was installed in 1927 and to our knowledge it is the second oldest operational lift in the North Island. Whilst it is an older lift it has been the most reliable piece of equipment in the hotel during my time here and is very much a feature of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a night, and found the room to be spacious and well appointed. The staff were friendly and the old style lift was great fun.

The hotel is well placed in the centre of Palmerston North, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants, but the room was quiet and we had a good night's sleep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OBC_NMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Palmerston North. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and found the rooms to be comfortable and spacious. The lift in the Heritage wing of the hotel is the original lift that was installed in 1927 and from our knowledge is the second oldest operational lift in the North Island.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My partner and I dropped in for a Friday night meal. We were told that only bar meals were available which was a disappointment but we elected to stay as it was nice and quiet. The meal -fish & chips, rather small ie one piece of nicely cooked fish some chips and side salad. During our meal we never once got asked if we would like a top up on our drinks or if every thing was ok. That waitress was dressed shall we say for comfort, this did not at all reflect the high standard the establishment projected. Overall a little disappointing.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Corinna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Good Afternoon Corinna,

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel in our Cuban Bar. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that our restaurant was closed on the evening you stopped in. We appreciate all guest feedback and your comments have been passed along to the appropriate department manager to address.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Rooms tidy, clean and functional, staff friendly. Would stay again.

Shower and iron both good. Would recommend.

Bed and pillows comfortable, TV could be bigger.

Restaurant and bar is on site. Food and drinks reasonable price

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank johnjoanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable and clean.
We appreciate all guest feedback and are happy to hear that you found our menus to be of a reasonable price. We are updating this to keep up with guests feedback to provide a fresh and current menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palmerston North again soon.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

the car park is small, the room close to the main street is a bit of dated. there is an old fashion elvator, very classic. worth to try. bedding stuff is OK. breakfast is averagem, have some smoke leeked from the kintchen. but good service.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Frank0434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionTeam, Front Office Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Good Morning Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback and are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I recommend trying our newer Tower wing the next time you visit Palmerston North as this was built in 2005 and is much newer.

Kind regards,

Cherie Crowther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews