We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$181
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$181
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Maxine W

Comfortable and Central

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024via mobile
Stayed a couple of nights - part of a group.
Enjoyed our stay, however room was very warm, and while windows didn’t open wide (obviously for safety reasons) - the Dyson Cooler didn’t cool the room sufficiently enough to make comfortable to sleep. Other members of group commented on the same.
Front of house staff friendly.
Our room was clean and comfortable.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Plenty parking,
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
One Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
$207
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Priceline
    $207
0.2 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom family unit lounge
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $159
0.3 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom lounge/kitchen
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
0.7 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free parking
Room service
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $159
1.1 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front entrance
Booking.com
$173
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
    $173
1.9 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
    $126
  • Priceline
    $140
0.1 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Priceline
    $175
0.8 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $131
  • Priceline
    $140
0.1 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $174
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $174
1.2 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $118
  • Priceline
    $127
0.1 km from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
126
191
133
65
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
126
191
133
65
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast room service air conditioning good size bed was very comfortable central location square mall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024

This use to be the place to stay, and over the years so much so that I advise my staff that were they will be staying. They asked if they could find another accommodation, conversation was had and I booked in for 2 nights, VERY disappointed and will agree with my team.
Friday went to the house bar, had closed at 8.30pm, staff behind the counter would not supply any drinks.
Rooms very tired although being done up now, shower blocked, can't tell me that the cleaners didn't notice when they were doing there work, when I tried to clear the drain, the floors were all slimy around the edges, gross.
Never have I complained about accommodation there is always the first time.

Room tip: There is better places
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Venture24831499099
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024

Average....very average. Rooms tired & hotel grey and dated. Renovation now happening. Restaurant seemed overpriced for what was delivered and dessert at top prices eg the lemon curd tart was not even satisfactory. Upside was friendly staff, spacious room & proximity to the CBD. Would not recommend though.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

We chose this place for our guest stay who came to see us in New Zealand. I would rate the overall experience as below average. Their guest dealing/flexibility to meet guest requests is horrible. I would never choose Copthorne again and would not recommend anyone to choose this place.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Atif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2023

Having stayed at various other Copthorne Hotels around NZ and always been happy with our experience, for our first visit to Palmerston North it was a no-brainer to go with the Copthorne. We also specifically wanted a bath and good sleep as we were in the area for our son's sporting tournament over several days.

Our first night was not great as we managed a total of three hours sleep due to noise in the ceiling like a loud rattling/ticking noise as though there were loose screws in the air ducts or something. It was relentless and the next morning I brought it up with the staff member on the counter and played a recording of what we'd been kept awake with. She was lovely and we were able to move rooms to the same style of room in a different area.

While this solved the sleeping problem and we were able to sleep the next night, the water pressure in the bathroom was non-existent. Taps on full and the water barely trickled out. Showed a video of this to another staff member who sympathised and agreed it was useless but nothing more was said (probably not much they could do to be fair).

Went downstairs later to get coins for the washing machine and dryer, did a load of washing and then found the dryer to be broken. Went downstairs again and the guy on the counter (different person every time) went and checked and confirmed it was broken but that there was nothing he could do (they don't own the machines and we understand maintenance can take days).

It just felt like one disappointment or inconvenience after another and while it is all very first-world problems, you still spend a lot of money to stay places so those things count at the end of the day. The breakfast buffet cost $30 for an adult and $15 for a child and for $45 was very simple - we always love a buffet breakfast (who doesn't!) but chose the next morning to flag it.

The staff were understanding and nice about it - but while there we overheard others mentioning the water pressure and the staff member who I had just talked to saying, "Hopefully others report it as well" - so just felt like things weren't taken seriously, just brushed off with understanding words but no action.

Next time we would try a different hotel.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023

Ok welcome, room a good size. Nothing much to complain about. It all just felt cold and boring. Nothing screams out 'stay here'. Central to town. Free parking. It is what it says on the bottle. Not sure I would stay here again but you never know. It's meh.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews