We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasty tempered with indifferent attitude”
Review of Bethanys

Bethanys
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really tasty tempered with indifferent attitude”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Very tasty Salmon special (with cous cous, yoghurt, green beans, pumpkin purée) and delicious fillet steak cooked beautifully. Only disappointments were the kids rock hard chocolate cake and the staff lack of concern at hearing an adverse comment. Service was efficient for the main course but then really, really slow for the kids dessert. Attentiveness dips when they get busy.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    105
    23
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Lovely evening dining alfresco overlooking the Square. We were a party of 10 who arrived midweek without a reservation. Staff were friendly and efficient. Everyone really enjoyed their meals. Best beef fillet steak I have had for ages. Three chose the chicken salad (on the recommendation of a guest already eating there) and really enjoyed it. Creme Brulees also went down well.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve_bnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Veeery nice”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Wanted to have breakfast at a nice cafe that was close to my hotel. Favourable reviews steered me to Bethany's. Ordered my fav. brekkie( eggs benny)when away from home and wasn't let down at all. In fact it was very very tasty. Didn't have to wait long to be served and the same can be said while waiting for my coffee and the eggs. Staff were nice and friendly so it all made for a very favourable experience and a great start to the day. Thank you Bethany's.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Shiran-Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Our usual restaurant but not our usual good meal”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We go to the restaurant a lot and so it was our choice to take grandson and his lady. George's meal was fine, mine was not. I specifically asked that hollandaise NOT be put over my scallops but still got it so sent it back. The meal was returned and the scallops were just not up to standard. They were swimming in a jus or liquid and the presentation was not good, neither was the taste. I did tell the maitre de and he brought the chef out and I paid for half my meal. We are going back tonight for a Valentine Dinner so am a bit apprehensive.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy Fishing”
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Hadn't been for a little while so back to see if the Tempura Battered Fish was the same great meal as last time and guess what, it was exactly as it was last time, delicious. Great to see consistency in food preparation. Apart from the Fish, there is still a great Menu selection of course, with reasonable prices compared to others locally. Great drink and dessert selection including coffee. Recommend for a good lunch. Staff pleasant and polite plus a clean restaurant. We will be back for sure.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bethanys also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Bethanys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing