We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Speight's Ale House Palmerston North
Price range: $15 - $36
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Visited Speights for a date night and my partner and I was not disappointed. The service was great, with our server being nice, chatty, and funny, as well as ensuring we were alright throughout our dinner. Our dinner was really nice with the wait time not long at all. We had the lge Chicken Parcels and the Stockman steak - cooked great! The mud cake and the hot chocolate chip skillet biscuit are perfect desserts after such a generous meal. The pricing can vary to the higher side on some meals, but it is worth it. I believe this is a great restaurant to have a meal at. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank exrxpxtlxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam, Owner at Speight's Ale House Palmerston North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Thank you so much for the great review and 5 stars. Look forward to seeing you all again
Regards
Bernice
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2021

I booked well in advance for Queens Birthday Sat night. When we arrived we were told we could only have the table until 7.30pm. Our booking time was 6.00pm but we had all arrived at 5.30pm. If we had not arrived until 6.00pm we would had only 1.5 hours to enjoy our meal and the company. We had intended to stay for coffee and dessert but only finished eating at 7.00pm, so we chose to leave and spend our money elswhere for dessert. We were very dissappointed as this was a special occasion for one couple and we usually stay at the resturant for a good number of hours. If we had been told the time limit when we booked we could have made a decision wether or not to go ahead with the booking.
Despite this the food was delicious and the service good.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam, Owner at Speight's Ale House Palmerston North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2021

Hi Maureen
We are sorry you missed dessert and coffee with us, arguably some would say the best part of a meal.
It looks like we have failed to give you the correct informaion at booking which was to advise you your table was booked at 7.30pm therefore the time limit. Please accept our apologies and we will review this complaint at our Duty Manager Meeting to ensure we get things right with our communication
Thanks for writing to us
Bernice
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021

Attended an event on Friday 7th May. Bar staff very rude. Waiting EVERY time at bar Bar service very poor. Very disappointing, wish manager would check cameras to see what really goes on !!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Roving755248
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam, Owner at Speight's Ale House Palmerston North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hi Roving, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our bar was particulary busy on Friday 7th with a number of large groups meeting up in the bar. I apoligse if you had to wait at any time because of this
Thanks for writing to us
Cheers
Bernice
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

Visited Speights Ale House with a few friends and we had ordered the mussels gluten free, with a few other entrees. When the food arrived there was bread on top of the mussels. So I asked the waiter straight away, is the bread on top of the meal gluten free. I got a swift and confident “yes” response, so of course I didn’t doubt her. We started eating it then thought it tasted too good to be gluten free, so I got a second opinion from another staff member and was told it definitely is not. I was very dissatisfied that the waiter did not double check with the chief nor other staff members. Instead, she chose to just blurt out that the bread was gluten free instantaneously. I have celiac disease so it’s crucial I have a strict gluten free diet as it’s the only treatment available. After chatting with the manager, the problem was resolved the best it could have been. Was managed very professionally which was pleasant, the drinks and entree cheque was cleared. We also received a voucher to come back and try them out again. Ended up being very sick the next couple days and symptoms only disappearing a week after. Will try the restaurant again sometime in the future in hope to receive better service, and expect that the team there did learn something from this mistake.

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank zavierw2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2021

Rude service by what appears to be some terribly disgruntled and long-suffering students. It was all such an effort for them. Drinks served with the panache of a kindergarten child offering cordial to you in a plastic cup. We waited around an hour and a half for a main meals so I went up and asked very politely 'just wondering where our meals are"', a staffer said, I'll just check. Five minutes later our slop got served. The staff member then said 'Happy now??!'.
My Roast Vege Salad was gross. Just awful.
Would I recommend? Hell no. Avoid this dump at all costs.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BerniceAdlam, Owner at Speight's Ale House Palmerston North, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Hi Zane, We are confused with your complaint as we did not have any waits logged as 1 1/2 hours. On two nights over February we did have waits of 1 hour due to being extremely busy.
Are you sure you have done the right review for the right restaurant? Happy to discuss anytime, feel free to give us a call at your convenience.
Regards
Bernice
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speight's Ale House Palmerston North also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Speight's Ale House Palmerston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.