We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$142
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Eion M
Avondale
Great place to stay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2023via mobile
Friendly lady at the reception, room was clean & well appointed. The decor was Morden, plenty of off street parking, the only thing i think could be improved was the hot water pressure in the shower, fairly close to the main centre, it took me about 15 minutes to walk to the city centre. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Expedia.com
    $113
  • Vio.com
    $118
1.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
One Bedroom Suite
Booking.com
$207
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $208
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$171
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Priceline
    $171
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$183
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heritage guest room - Queen
Booking.com
$260
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $260
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden Area
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $181
1.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$172
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $172
  • Vio.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $172
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$155
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $155
2.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front entrance
Booking.com
$178
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
2.5 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge main centre small kitchenette off street parking great place to stay city centre motel pressure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2023

Due to a house fire we needed accommodation whilst the house was dealt with. We stayed at Harringtons for 3 months and the service was fantastic. Tracey was so happy and any little thing was never too much trouble. We needed to extend the dates at short notice but she juggled things around to accommodate us. We were treated with respect and gave us the privacy that allowed us to go about our work and home commitments.
Thank you Tracey and the rest of the team, would happily recommend this place to our family and friends.
Mark&Pamela

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

A Great last minute stay here!

Booked a room at the Harrington's Motor Lodge only 10mins before I arrived. I usually stay up the road, but the last minute room rate here was really good. The lovely lady at Reception hadn't quite seen my booking come through, so she rushed around getting my room organized. Proper Fresh Milk offered, none of those horrid UHT pottles to be seen.

Parking was available directly outside the rooms. My room was just one of their basic studios. They were nothing flash, but all the fundamentals were excellent. Comfy Beds, Clean, and warm. Huge TV with the 50+ Sky TV Channels. Small Kitchenette with all the stuff you'd need to cook a small meal/breakfast. Bathroom had a wet area shower, which unfortunately had pretty shocking pressure.

I had feared when I arrived, that this place may have been being used as an Emergency Housing Facility. There were a couple of shady people hanging around outside their rooms, and old beaten up cars. After a terrible experience the night before in a Motel that was an EH Facility, I was really nervous. However, the shady people outside were extremely quiet and respectful. So hopefully this place is not a EH Facility.

My few gripes would be the shocking shower pressure. The lack of Power Sockets by the bed for the charging of phones and the likes. And not the Motels fault, but Turning right out of the Motel onto Fitzherbert Street can be very hard at times, and some massive patience is needed.

So all in all, the Harrington's Motor Lodge is an extremely decent, comfortable, clean and affordable place to spend the night. The owners/manager are very friendly people. This place offers excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

This motel is one of our go to stays when in Palmerston as its handy to where we need to be, the park is just across the road and very easy to get around.

It is more heading to Massey end of town but is only a 5 min drive to the city centre.

We always get the 2 bedroom apartment and it is very spacious and clean. Only downfall is when in the lounge you can hear the traffic whooshing past so when quiet is a bit annoying.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

If price is right will be staying again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ladyhawknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SUNNY YU, General Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for your review, we are now upgrade the facilities.Install the 55'' inches TV, and water purifier.Welcome to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2021

Their booking system is confusing and flawed. The confirmation emails they send make no sense and have errors regarding payment. If a confirmation email states 50% of payment has already been paid, it should be correct - not to turn around and say they never charged you at that time.

After the staff indicated to me she would look into it, I was notified that my card had been charged. This is not the communication or customer service I would expect when you are paying for a service.

I have not had an experience with making payment like with this motel. It’s asking for confusion and error.

The staff are friendly enough however very hard to communicate with which makes errors much worse.

Rooms themselves were fine, very tired however.

Will definitely not be returning

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GW005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SUNNY YU, General Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for your review. We kindly ask you please advise the bank receipt if you already paid ,but not the reservation confirmation letter. Should you have any inquires ,please do not feel hesitated to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

This used to be our favourite Motel in Palmerston North. We have stayed there for many years to attend the Stock Car teams Champs, however the ownership changed in December and our forward booking of 11 months was cancelled just three weeks before we were due to stay there. We just recieved an E-Mail that due to renovations our booking has been cancelled. Unbelievable! No answer to our E-Mail and a most unhelpful person on the reception desk.Try finding accomodation in Palmerston North over Waitangi weekend. I will never stay there again nor would I recommend anyone else does as this new owner is just as likely to cancel your booking.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews