We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$163
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Expedia.com
$147
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$145
Fully refundable before Tue, 16 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge main centre small kitchenette off street parking great place to stay city centre motel pressure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2020

This unit was comfy enough, but nothing to rave about.
Close to the river if you want to go for a walk or run
Would need to drive to the shops as it's not close.
Good parking on site.
Hassle free check in.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meiling Chiang, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you for your comment. We hope you have enjoyed the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

Pulled in here to have a quick look around Palmerston North
Very reasonable motel
Large spacious room that was clean and spotless
Kitchenette well stocked for easy eating
Just across the road from the park and right near river walking track
We did a walk in the evening and morning just lovely
Kevin very friendly and helpful
Would recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gaysie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Thank you so much for your comment. We are endeavoring to do better. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

So, the good thing about this place was the actual room, LOTS of space, a great two-bedroom unit, basic kitchen. The downside was the staff member who checked us in and the booking system. We booked directly with them and 'paid' for our room at booking. When we arrived the guy informed me that we hadn't paid and that it was just to secure the booking - this is despite the booking from them said it was paid. When we challenged this point he was very smug about it all. He enabled us to pay the next day so we could check throughout bank account online to see that it had not actually taken the money, however, this is not good practice to send customers a receipt of payment when they have not actually paid and the attitude of the guy who checked us in was not what I would consider good customer service.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We always endeavor to do better. We do apologies for any inconvenience that we have caused you. We will ensure that in the future the payment method is clear with the customer.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Stayed here two nights on a weekend recently. Was really busy, full i think, with groups of people in different rooms so they’d all gather. All ok on arrival to collect key and milk and we were shown to our room - good customer service. We considered ordering continental breakfast but receptionist was keen on our decision to go to Elm Cafe 2 mins walk away which was great and easy. Not great English so a bit hard to understand. The one bedroom spa room was ok - positive was it had lots of space but downside was it was tried, wasn’t thoroughly cleaned so finger marks on table top, rusty soap holder in shower, taps not thoroughly cleaned, bed was too hard (that’s a personal preference), and it was noisy with people lingering/smoking/talking on seats in front of rooms (1-2am) (however not shouting or aggro) and noisy between the walls with people sneezing, coughing, snoring, talking. Lights were turned off in the car park and walkways so it’s really dark when finding key hole. A good basic place and maybe some good deals. However, not somewhere we will return.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristabelle_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We apologies it was not a good experience. We will endeavor to do better next time. Next time please let us about the noise we could talk to the other guests. Thank you again for letting us know, this will make us better.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

Have stayed here before there arenow new owners there English isn’t great I had to ask them to clean the shower and toilet when I arrived as they were really bad it seems they do the bulk of the cleaning the guy that is there was a huge spider in the bath what was also worse was I popped down the road for dinner came back at8.45 pm the sign light was off all the lights around the units were off the office light was off it was completely dark couldn’t get my key in the door ! Clearly they don’t want travellers knocking on there door in the evening would not recommend and would not stay again tiny wee double bed room wasn’t serviced properly every day best to stay down the road

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 438michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We always aim to deliver a great experience. We are gutted when we miss the mask! Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews