We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Fiona S
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Okay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2020
This unit was comfy enough, but nothing to rave about.
Close to the river if you want to go for a walk or run
Would need to drive to the shops as it's not close.
Good parking on site.
Hassle free check in.
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
One Bedroom Suite
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
External Hero
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $150
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Heritage guest room - Queen
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
DH Coachman Exterior Garden
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge main centre small kitchenette off street parking great place to stay city centre motel pressure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

Pulled in here to have a quick look around Palmerston North
Very reasonable motel
Large spacious room that was clean and spotless
Kitchenette well stocked for easy eating
Just across the road from the park and right near river walking track
We did a walk in the evening and morning just lovely
Kevin very friendly and helpful
Would recommend

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gaysie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Thank you so much for your comment. We are endeavoring to do better. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

So, the good thing about this place was the actual room, LOTS of space, a great two-bedroom unit, basic kitchen. The downside was the staff member who checked us in and the booking system. We booked directly with them and 'paid' for our room at booking. When we arrived the guy informed me that we hadn't paid and that it was just to secure the booking - this is despite the booking from them said it was paid. When we challenged this point he was very smug about it all. He enabled us to pay the next day so we could check throughout bank account online to see that it had not actually taken the money, however, this is not good practice to send customers a receipt of payment when they have not actually paid and the attitude of the guy who checked us in was not what I would consider good customer service.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Thank you for your comments. We always endeavor to do better. We do apologies for any inconvenience that we have caused you. We will ensure that in the future the payment method is clear with the customer.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Stayed here two nights on a weekend recently. Was really busy, full i think, with groups of people in different rooms so they’d all gather. All ok on arrival to collect key and milk and we were shown to our room - good customer service. We considered ordering continental breakfast but receptionist was keen on our decision to go to Elm Cafe 2 mins walk away which was great and easy. Not great English so a bit hard to understand. The one bedroom spa room was ok - positive was it had lots of space but downside was it was tried, wasn’t thoroughly cleaned so finger marks on table top, rusty soap holder in shower, taps not thoroughly cleaned, bed was too hard (that’s a personal preference), and it was noisy with people lingering/smoking/talking on seats in front of rooms (1-2am) (however not shouting or aggro) and noisy between the walls with people sneezing, coughing, snoring, talking. Lights were turned off in the car park and walkways so it’s really dark when finding key hole. A good basic place and maybe some good deals. However, not somewhere we will return.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristabelle_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wehavearoom4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. We apologies it was not a good experience. We will endeavor to do better next time. Next time please let us about the noise we could talk to the other guests. Thank you again for letting us know, this will make us better.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

Have stayed here before there arenow new owners there English isn’t great I had to ask them to clean the shower and toilet when I arrived as they were really bad it seems they do the bulk of the cleaning the guy that is there was a huge spider in the bath what was also worse was I popped down the road for dinner came back at8.45 pm the sign light was off all the lights around the units were off the office light was off it was completely dark couldn’t get my key in the door ! Clearly they don’t want travellers knocking on there door in the evening would not recommend and would not stay again tiny wee double bed room wasn’t serviced properly every day best to stay down the road

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 438michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2019

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We always aim to deliver a great experience. We are gutted when we miss the mask! Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

I've stayed here before for business and I can confirm it has been more or less a similar experience both times.

While the rooms and premises are very well presented, the staff that attend the reception could do with some customer service training. Upon checking in and requesting breakfast for the following morning, I asked for gluten free toast, which was an option in the form. The receptionist said he didn't have any and would have to go and buy some. His attitude told me he couldn't be asked so I told him not to worry about it. His attitude in general around requesting breakfast was of someone who couldn't be bothered. For the second breakfast, when I requested it, the guy made a face as if I were inconveniencing him. I requested tomato sauce, but what I was given had an odd colour. Upon checking, I noticed it had expired three years ago.

As I said, the rooms are very clean and we'll presented, but the customer service was not that great. For this reason, I think 3 stars is being generous.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank icoello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you so much for your comments. We are taking your feedback very seriously. We will improve our customer services and endeavoring to give our customer the best experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, it's much appreciated. We will certainly improve from here. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews