We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
icoello
Napier, New Zealand

Not a happy chappy

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Oct 2018via mobile
I've stayed here before for business and I can confirm it has been more or less a similar experience both times.

While the rooms and premises are very well presented, the staff that attend the reception could do with some customer service training. Upon checking in and requesting breakfast for the following morning, I asked for gluten free toast, which was an option in the form. The receptionist said he didn't have any and would have to go and buy some. His attitude told me he couldn't be asked so I told him not to worry about it. His attitude in general around requesting breakfast was of someone who couldn't be bothered. For the second breakfast, when I requested it, the guy made a face as if I were inconveniencing him. I requested tomato sauce, but what I was given had an odd colour. Upon checking, I noticed it had expired three years ago.

As I said, the rooms are very clean and we'll presented, but the customer service was not that great. For this reason, I think 3 stars is being generous.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Owner at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 14 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your comments. We are taking your feedback very seriously. We will improve our customer services and endeavoring to give our customer the best experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, it's much appreciated. We will certainly improve from here. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
One Bedroom Suite
$209
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom family unit lounge
$151
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$155
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
1.7 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Front entrance
$174
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
IMG
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $127
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Harringtons Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Palmerston North
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
36
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge main centre small kitchenette off street parking great place to stay city centre motel pressure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Close to Massey and an easy walk to the city. Close to a nice cafe. Roomy and well appointed, with good heaters for the those cold winter evenings. Friendly staff.

Only negatives were poor (unusable) wifi reception and noisy neighbors.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brady1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Front Office Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback and we will look into those issues that you have mentioned. Hope that you will drop by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

An excellent motel close to town. Immaculately presented and clean, everything we needed for our stay. Great continental breakfast available and delivered to your room in advance. Free parking
Professionally managed!.
Lovely park across the road..

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Calypso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Front Office Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us recently. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and hope that you chose to stay with us if you return to Palmerston North in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent place to stay on a stop over in Palmerston North. Handy to main road south, short drive to city centre. The units are roomy, clean and have a full kitchen. There are toiletries supplied and digital tv. Heating is adequate and efficient. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank FlyingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Front Office Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to place feedback on our motel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us again when you next visit Palmerston North. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

This motel is in a handy spot on the main road into town for travellers coming from Wellington (via Shannon). Its just a couple more minutes by car in to town, and there are service stations nearby. The room was a little cold (mid-winter) when we checked in but the heat pump had it warm in a short time and was very quiet on the lowest fan setting which meant it was fine sleep with it on a low setting without any noise. The room had simple but adequate cooking facilities, the WiFi was reliable and fast, and shower was good. No complaints from us at all - we would certainly stay there again if visiting Palmerston North.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dcwledzep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Front Office Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you very much for your positive review of our motel, Duncan. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The customer service was fantastic and I really enjoyed my stay.

The only thing I would note is that the units may need a little upgrading. But that isn't a big deal.

Thanks and would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ngatiporounz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WehaveAhome4you, Front Office Manager at Harringtons Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to place feedback about you recent stay at Harringtons. We get a buzz when people enjoy their stay and look forward to catching up with you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews