We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
43
21
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
21
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe on site close to the airport at no extra cost night stay road noise hospital meg zest unit heater motel tv studio linens microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We spent two nights in an Executive Studio Twin room in the Carramar Motor Inn. The room was big, with a double and a single bed - both divinely comfortable. The amenities available included a fridge, tea and coffee-making facilities, toaster, microwave, hairdryer, TV with Sky channels, free Wifi, etc. There was also a desk for us to work at, if we wished.
The bathroom was huge! It had a floor big enough to waltz on, and a full bath - in addition to the roomy shower with fantastic water pressure.
The unit was new and fresh, and immaculately clean.
The Cafe attached to the motel was great. We liked being able to build our own breakfasts. We enjoyed the food, service and surroundings so much that we had two breakfasts and two lunches there!
The motel is located opposite the entrance to the Palmerston North Hospital. This would be a wonderful place to stay if you wanted to be close to a patient there.
We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this motel to others. We would also like to thank Datinder for his kindnesses to us throughout our stay.
Michele and Pam

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank GoPlaces63356699520
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carramar Motor Inn, General Manager at Carramar Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We really appreciate your kind comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Palmerston North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Paid $250 a night for a one bedroom apartment, which had a shoebox living area with one chair to watch a modest sized tv, this sort of space I would expect from a cheap priced studio. Traffic noise is also a major issue here, constant throughout the night. Ask to see the room before agreeing to take it.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2021

Stayed for one night en route to Wellington and will be back! Large room , very comfortable beds and quality bedding. Modern ,quality decor with decent desk and chair. bathroom very neat and tidy with shower and seperate bathroom. Even had heater lights fitted. Close proximity to airport and strip with great restaurants 2 minutes drive away. Even a cafe on site for breakfast/ lunch. The cafe closes at 3pm though, but eateries not far away. Sufficient parking on site. Maybe an investment in “Sky TV Plus “will make this establishment “perfect”. value for money for what is offered.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Comfortisking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2020

My flight from Palmerston North was cancelled, and Air New Zealand gave me a 2 night stay voucher to this motel while awaiting re-booking: it was very nice, safe, and convenient. It's close to the airport and the hospital is directly across the street. My room was very clean and contained a shower, a separate tub, 2 burner electric stove, microwave, dormitory- sized refrigerator, clean linens, and a TV. Meg and Gary were very pleasant, attentive, and helpful. Cafe Zest is next door but closes at 3 PM Friday and SAT/SUN, but there's Cafe Cravings, a Dairy and an Asian take out with Fish and Chips right down the street, within easy walking distance for other food options. I did not pay (airline did) so I can't speak about
motel's value and can't compare to other motels.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelmomwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2020

Stayed here for 3 nights and it is lovely and clean and modern with parking available. Unit was great for our family with a nice bathroom and kitchen to make our own toast and coffee etc which helps save money when travelling, and great when you have small children. Has a cafe onsite which makes good coffee and nice breakfast. The reception were very accommodating as we arrived quite late and it was not a problem. You do get quite a bit of road noise and hospital noise, so I guess it depends on what unit. Would definitely stay again but would ask for a room off the main road just for the traffic noise.

Room tip: Quieter rooms away from main road
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews