We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”
Review of Cafe Brie

Cafe Brie
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 13 January 2022

The first, ánd last time we follow the advice of Trip advisor.
Fish and chips with salad: only the salad was fresh and crisp. Fish was dry and had had probably about 4 days in the fridge, absolutely no taste.
Hamburger with chips: the topping was one sticky mess of overcooked onions, melted cheese etc. Not the hamburger my husband was expecting from Cafe Brie!
Cafe Brie was reported to be a French cafe, but we could not discover anything French on the menu.
Maybe we had to high expectations.

Ed

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adrianvW6424FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2021

Wife and I had lunch there today from 1130 to 1215. We chose Whitebait Fritter and the biggest burger I have had for decades. Both meals were the best !!!

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drallom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

First time to Cafe Brie in years and I was pleasantly delighted! Great service (super efficient but also friendly in the covid L2 setting which was appreciated) and excellent food!

I had the Chicken Cajun salad which had tender crispy chicken pieces and yummy salads greens complete with little edible flowers. :)

Others at table all enjoyed their meals too. One had the bouillabaisse, one had whitebait fritters, and the other lambs fry. All very tasty and generous with the protein portions.

Thank you Cafe Brie chefs and service staff for a wonderful lunch!

Date of visit: November 2021
1  Thank justine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2021

Friendly staff, great atmosphere, beautiful setting and out of this world food.
If you are wanting a high tea, this is where it's at.
Well done to all the staff for making my baby shower beautiful. Planning and booking was seamless.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank TarliaNewcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

We made an error with our order and they were great about fixing it and giving us a refund. Super friendly.
The food was fabulous too.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank julesinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Brie also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Cafe Brie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.