We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Waverley Estate

Waverley Estate
Ranked #3 of 87 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waverley Estate is the only Aged Wine Specialist in the Hunter Valley. The philosophy of the estate is to achieve low yields of fruit which create intensely flavored grapes attaining high quality but small quantity. Waverley offers award winning Semillon, Chardonnay, Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sparkling and an amazing Vintage Port. No day in the Hunter is complete without stopping by Waverley where you will witness first hand aged Hunter wines and history blended together.
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Great hospitality and wine in a beautiful setting. Super friendly staff - would highly recommend anyone stop by Waverley Estate if they are in the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank ShannonL1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 51 reviews
"ox"
in 3 reviews
"hunter valley"
in 37 reviews
"an absolute treat"
in 3 reviews
"cellar door"
in 18 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 10 reviews
"amazing wine"
in 8 reviews
"extensive knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"lovely cheese"
in 3 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 6 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"made us feel"
in 7 reviews
"last stop"
in 3 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 7 reviews
"crackers"
in 4 reviews
"my partner"
in 6 reviews
"great service"
in 4 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

My friend and I visited Waverley Estate Cellar door on a Saturday afternoon. Despite being busy the sales assistant offered friendly service and knew a lot about the wines. It was $5 tasting fee, but with that came a small cheese plate and $5 off our purchase. We were given the option to sit outside and complete our tasting, which was a point of difference to other cellar doors we had visited. Wines were lovely especially the Rose and Tawny!
Would recommend a visit and would go back! Thanks!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank sincshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Renae was very friendly and knowledgeable about their product. Great wine, strongly recommend. .....

Date of experience: September 2018
4  Thank hughj32018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Incredible experience at Waverley Estate. It was the first vineyard we visited and ended up returning the following day to buy more wine.
From the moment we arrived, we were made feel so welcome. We were greeted by Renae and Frits, the owner of the estate, who were both extremely friendly and knowledgeable.
We paid 5AUD each for wine tasting, which was redeemable if you purchased wine, and we were also given cheese, crackers and humous to cleanse our pallets!
Frits’ wife Jackie is also a talented artist whose paintings were displayed in the Cellar Door. There was a real family feel to the whole experience and it was definitely our highlight of the day.
Thanks for an amazing experience and we will definitely be back.
From the 2 Irish girls and Hayley from London!

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I had chosen a few small wineries to visit on a weekend away with my husband. We didn’t get any further than Waverley Estate. Great service, great range of wines to try and the $5 for the cheese plate and tasting was deducted from the cost of the wines we bought. Great sparking wine, tasty white and red wines and a very smooth port. The winemaker stopped in and was the perfect Host, the lady serving us was attentive and knowledgeable. Great small vineyard without the crowds from buses. We will revisit this one!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waverley Estate also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Waverley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing