We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, romantic little place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linseyg78
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, romantic little place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is such a lovely little cottage. Nestled at the top of a mountain you feel like you're the only people on earth, yet it's only a 5 - 10 minute drive down the mountain track to the vineyards.

The views are panoramic and spectacular, and the owner Sally has amazing attention to detail with lots of lovely little extras thrown in. Would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyandD...
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven Found.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our third wedding anniversary at Amelies and couldn't have asked for a more magical, romantic hideaway. Tucked on the side of Pokolbin Mountain overlooking the valley you felt like you were a million miles away the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything you need including; scrabble, CDs, binoculars and even some DVDs. The breakfast hamper provided had so many delicious goodies. During our stay we had a fair bit of rain (which the valley so badly needed) but that only made it more romantic. Thanks Sally for a great time! Next stay will be for a week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WareySydn...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Amelies. The house is very cute and cosy, but with everything you could possibly need. The view from the room is very peaceful and it was just the break from the children and life in the city that we needed. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surrounds, and visits from the very friendly dogs
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG.... AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL... OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to put into words and express how wonderfull this place is. My wife and I spent 4 nights at Amelies for our 20th Wedding anniversary. It was the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful cotteage and surrounds we have had the pleasure of staying in... ever.
Sally has done a supurb job of making sure you have everything you need for your stay without ever seeing another sole unless you venture out to find someone. The accomodation was sensational, the cottage is well maintained and has the most amazing veiws of the Hunter Valley and has all the amentiies you will need to enjoy a relaxing romantic getaway. Although it was our first stay at this gem, it will not be our last, we will definately be back.... just got to find someone to look after the kids again.
Highly recomended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surrounds and the views
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireinA...
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Amelies for 7 nights with my finance, 7 most wonderful nights, they have probably been the most relaxing 8 days of my life to date! I cannot recommend this place highly enough to anyone that wants to truly unwind!

Sally, owns this beautiful property and has lovingly created a home away from home, everything has been thought of to help you enjoy the most comfortable visit, I will keep these little things as a 'nice surprise' for you should you choose to come and stay :)

If this sounds like the place for you, then don't hesitate, but make sure you stay for the longer then just the weekend- you won't regret it- i promise!!

Price is extremely reasonable and location is is the heart of the hunter (but once you are up there onto of the mountain it feels as though it is just you and the trees) winning all around!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views!
Liked least: Nothing it was all fantastic!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing