We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveller rating
494
514
146
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
514
146
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking the crowne plaza working harbour valet service a king spa suite separate bedroom harbour view hunter river sitting area water view room service the ground floor water front hotel restaurant very pleasant stay nobbys beach location is great
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I normally do a lot of the travel bookings for my company and often book (on request) this hotel, so, when the opportunity arose for me to stay here, I looked forward to it to check out why.

On arrival, I was given a warm welcome by Reese - a lovely friendly man and possibly the least stuffy person I have ever met on a hotel check in desk. This is a welcome change - he is definitely an asset to this hotel. Great start! The was another young lady along side him that was also chatty and friendly - shows he’s not a one-off!

Going up to my room - I and my partner found it to be relaxing and more spacious than expected with a balcony that gave us access to fresh air! A great bonus. The bed was so comfortable, my partner and I had the best sleep ever in a hotel. Even the air con wasn’t noisy!

We also had time to have a few drinks at the bar as well as a bowl of fries with truffled mayo - delicious!

Breakfast the next morning was also good - staff everywhere were helpful & friendly. The only downside was getting eggs done to order as there was quite a queue (make sure you place your order before you select from the buffet) but they were delivered to our table, if somewhat undercooked so had to be returned- came back over cooked!! Not a big deal as everything else was fine.

Verdict: probably the best hotel in Newcastle!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SherylC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney P, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SherylC19,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback it is appreciated and we will be so proud to send this to the wider team.

Our team pride themselves on being able to provide exceptional customer service and we are so pleased to hear that you experienced this throughout your stay in all our hotel's facilities.

We will be awaiting your return with open arms.

Kindest regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Simple, efficient, professional.

For a brand hotel in what is a relatively small location, Rydges have done well with the business of caring for not just their guests, but the beautiful building they have.

The harbour-side views are expansive, from the lighthouse all the way to the docks, and everything in between.
Also, the proximity to the waterfront - it is literally out the back door - is a real bonus when you stay here.
Restaurants, bars, coffee and take-away venues are all within five minutes walk of the hotel, and I’m not talking the garbage peddled by fast food chains; I mean actual restaurants and fresh fish, chips and seafood right on the river.

If you choose to stay here, treat yourself to enough of a stay to breathe, enjoy, and decompress. You will not only want it to go on until the next day, and the next, and the next, but you’ll love the serenity of walking the waterfront to get to and from the hotel every morning and afternoon...or evening.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney P, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

HI Julian D,

Thank you so very much for providing the hotel with such pleasurable feedback, we will be so proud to have this shared with our wider team.

We are so pleased to hear that you loved our spectacular views and location just as much as we do.

We cant wait to welome yourself and wife back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kindest egards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Plenty of space in our room, view of the water and cool air temp upon returning from outings.
Very nice restaurants within walking distance making it very easy to get around and with valet parking, just had to ask for the car and brought right out front for you if needed, nice!
The staff where all amazingly friendly and helpful and pretty much at your beck and call, nice again! :)

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rickaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney P, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Hi Rickaroonie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback it is appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our facilities and of course our spectacular location.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kindest regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Rooms were a very generous in terms of size. Breakfast was very good value. Our room was quite a distance from the reception however the view was worth it. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We'll be back next year.

Room tip: Some rooms have wonderful water views
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney P, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi Melissa B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback it is appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and of course our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Good clean room and comfortable bed, very helpful staff. No problem to move from internet booked city room to harbor view. Breakfast had a good choice but need to get lactose free milk(supplying own for coffee didn't cause any hassle)

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 88Dmac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney P, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi 88Dmac88,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with your feedback it is appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your requestes where able to be accomodated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Courtney P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews