We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveller rating
490
510
145
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
510
145
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking the crowne plaza working harbour valet service separate bedroom harbour view hunter river water view sitting area room service water front the ground floor hotel restaurant very pleasant stay nobbys beach location is great great room
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in harbour view room with balcony, good option if you don’t mind some noise as people walk by on the foreshore. Great room, very clean, roomy, seperate bedroom, all ammenities. Buffet style breakfast was very good with exceptional service from very friendly staff, very busy but to be expected at this time of year. Only negative would be some guests walking through reception in swimmers with no footwear not really what you want to see if having a coffee in the lounge area -dress code could be applied in that area. Overall highly recommend staying at Crowne when visiting Newcastle such a lovely location close to walks, beaches, bars and restaurants!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi T, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Steven R S, thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel location and facilities were to your liking. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Steffi T. Guest Relations Specialist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Spent two nights during the Christmas period

the good
- nice hotel
- clean and large rooms
- view on the water (for our two rooms)
- comfy bed - had a nice sleep
- super friendly staff even during the busy Christmas period
- good location - nice walk along the water

the not so good
- valet parking only - but i got used to this luxury
- no much water pressure in the shower.

will come back: Yes

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank axelgfrsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi T, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear axelgfrsyd, thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your feedback about the shower - we will ensure this is passed on. We are delighted to hear you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Steffi T. Guest Relations Specialist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Been the for 6 nights and enjoyed it. Staff are helpful, rooms are clean and the location is superb. We stayed at the harbor view room and it was amazing. The hotel is located close to major attractions of the city. Newcastle beach is just a 20 minutes (more or less) walk. All in all, I recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Choose the harbor view rooms at higher levels
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_R36510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi T, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear ali12345678, thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Steffi T. Guest Relations Specialist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Typical Crown experience - warm welcome, clear instructions on where to park and on the facilities available to you during your stay. Just a short walk to the wharf restaurant district so plenty of eating places and bars to choose from.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the water - they are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffi T, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Stewart G, thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Steffi T. Guest Relations Specialist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

returned after many years. I always a great experience at this Hotel. The staff are courteous, professional and knowledgeable. Upgraded to harbour front room always pleasant ..the bathrooms still need a bit of an upgrade! The facilities and the lap pool is first class. The dining room is basic and I think rather expensive, however, breakfast is excellent...( i must be one of the few who love the savoury mince on toast!) its great.

The staff always willing to assist. Wonderful walks along the harbour front and good bike

riding..bikes are for hire. I recommend this Hotel and also great for families. Not far from Newcastle airport , beach is not far away either

Room Tip: Harbour front but not overlooking pool can be noisy!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona O, Director of Sales at Rydges Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review, we hope you will join us again soon.

Kind Regards
Fiona O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews