We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome

Rented two bikes with a buddy for Old Ghost Road. Couldn't have been more sorted out by Adrian... read more

Reviewed 4 April 2021
mitchb821
amazing cycle hire for the old ghost road

We did a day ride at the Seddonville end of the OGR today and I have to compliment our cycle hire... read more

Reviewed 12 March 2021
QuietSeeker1
Read all 97 reviews
  
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
93
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great service adrian hire bikes advice gear fix repair ghost road ride trail end kit buddy cheers west
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This track is quite unique. A mix of alpine ridges and beech forest with riverside features plus very interesting history as well. We did it in the 2 ½ days recommended to us which was about right in terms of being able to stop to read the informative boards and to enjoy the views. They are spectacular. We had fabulous weather and clear skies so perfect for the trip. The trail is constantly being upgraded – we met some guys with a stone crusher on the top on day 1 breaking the granite into small pieces - & there is a wide range of surfaces. We hired duel suspension bikes from Habitat Sports, Westport, which we highly recommend. The bikes are superbly maintained which minimised anxiety of breakdown. The owners, Denna & Adrian, are passionate about safety and enjoyment of the experience. They are very knowledgeable regarding their extraordinary outdoor environment and the range of tracks on offer. We hired our food and extra gear from them also which reduced the amount of luggage to haul to Westport. Huge admiration for the visionary & dedicated people working on The Old Ghost Road – what an asset to New Zealand!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizyLiving, Owner at Habitat Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you for your review,

This is a truly stunning part of the world, we are pleased you enjoyed your Bike adventure experience on this challenging wonder of the world...... The Old Ghost Road.

Habitat Sports is proud to be providing a high standard of Bikes and Service.
Helping you 'Adapt To Your Habitat'.

We will see you again I'm sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We rode the Old Ghost Road a couple of weeks ago, and got a lift up with Habitat. They were really helpful and have top notch hire gear - to the extent that I wished I hadn't carted my bike from Australia so I could have hired one of theirs! The trail is an unbelievable experience, and it was great to get shuttled from end to end!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank TKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habitat S, Owner at Habitat Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habitat S, Owner at Habitat Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews