We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a first time surfer! ”
Review of West Coast Surf

West Coast Surf
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast surf has been established at Tauranga Bay on the West Coast of the south island for the past 18 years. Leeann Hill and Mark Perana are the owners and Mark is the head coach of this business. Mark has been coaching surfing and snowboarding for the past 25+ years and holds the highest qualifications in both industries. Mark is a previous NZ team coach and national title holder and a NZ snowboard examiner. He knows all there is to know on how to progress you safely in the surf weather you are a complete beginner, all ready surfing and want to improve or in need of some contest strategy. Mark is your man.
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

The beach was very long, wide and shallow and there were lots of waves coming in all the time. Pat was a great instructor, calm and friendly, he explained it in a easy way and I got to stand up on a couple of waves already on the first day. Thank you for a great time! :)

Thank P5975QRpeterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Fantastic so pleased you got to enjoy our beautiful area. Leeann @ West Coast Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great instructor"
in 3 reviews
"great reputation"
in 2 reviews
"tauranga bay"
in 8 reviews
"mark"
in 28 reviews
"lesson"
in 24 reviews
"teaching"
in 6 reviews
"teacher"
in 3 reviews
"waves"
in 10 reviews
"beginners"
in 3 reviews
"techniques"
in 3 reviews
"coast"
in 9 reviews
"blast"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

Our experience with West Coast Surf was great from start to finish. Neither of us had surfed before and I can hardly swim, but the learning area in Tauranga Bay was shallow and therefore not intimidating. Pat was an awesome teacher who worked individually with the three of us. No time was wasted - we spent the majority of our class in the water actually surfing, and had some free time to practice what we'd learned after the formal lesson concluded.

Thank you for everything and good luck to Pat on his teaching placement!

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thanks Guys for taking the time to review, so pleased you had a good time, happy travels.
Leeann @ West Coast Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

As beginners we really enjoyed our time with Mark, he was extremely patient and we felt we really improved during our time with him.
Thanks again Mark!

Paddy G

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank paddygillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thanks heaps for taking the time to review us and great to hear you had a good time, thanks for coming! Leeann @ West Coast Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great time on the coast of Tauranga bay. A beautiful spot with good waves all year round, and we had the beach almost to ourselves. It was our first time surfing and Pat did a great time learning us. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Great! Tanks for taking the time to review your lesson, thanks for coming.
Leeann @ West Coast Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Really enjoyed the lessons and the surf with my wife. As all the other comments, mark was great, the spot was even greater. Surfing is awesome no matter the weather as you will be wet anyways. Would caution the waves were fairly large or seemed it.

Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Thank you Stephan for taking the time to review us, happy travels. Leeann @ West Coast Surf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Surf also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to West Coast Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing