We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lesson! Would 100% go back! Well worth it!”
Review of West Coast Surf

West Coast Surf
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast surf has been established at Tauranga Bay on the West Coast of the south island for the past 18 years. Leeann Hill and Mark Perana are the owners and Mark is the head coach of this business. Mark has been coaching surfing and snowboarding for the past 25+ years and holds the highest qualifications in both industries. Mark is a previous NZ team coach and national title holder and a NZ snowboard examiner. He knows all there is to know on how to progress you safely in the surf weather you are a complete beginner, all ready surfing and want to improve or in need of some contest strategy. Mark is your man.
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Mark is awesome! Three of us got a lesson with him and he made us so comfortable and taught us so much! He's so calm and really makes it so enjoyable! Would definitely go back!!

Thank DachelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great teacher"
in 4 reviews
"great reputation"
in 2 reviews
"tauranga bay"
in 7 reviews
"mark"
in 26 reviews
"lesson"
in 23 reviews
"surfing"
in 14 reviews
"teaching"
in 5 reviews
"instructor"
in 5 reviews
"surfed"
in 3 reviews
"waves"
in 8 reviews
"techniques"
in 3 reviews
"coast"
in 8 reviews
"blast"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I took a lesson with Mark, he is a great teacher!
Funny and professional.
And Tauranga bay is just amazing!

Thank Bérengère P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Manager at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it. Leeann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Mark was an excellent, patient and fun teacher. He even managed to get 2 rookies on their boards in one lesson. Definitely recommended if you are in the region!

Thank charlot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing lesson...Mark is a wealth of knowledge and an excellent communicator. He gives you the skills, knowledge, safety and confidence to surf on your own. After having 2 lessons elsewhere this was by far the best and most insightful experience! Thanks Mark...highly recommended! Would definitely come back when next in NZ!

Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Owner at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thanks very much for your review,
We specialise in educating people to be able to surf by themselves, to be continually learning and improving by using self analysis, we dont teach you how to surf, we teach you how to surf better and we are stoked that you notice the difference.
Thanks again and hope to see you both again,
Thanks Georgie.
Best Regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Mark was super accommodating, managed to fit me in for a lesson just before dusk. Lots of information on rips, tides, safety and other basics before the lesson, then got in the water. Mark is patient, persistent, and fantastic at correcting form. I had a blast, couldn't have imagined a better first lesson.

Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puke2014, Owner at West Coast Surf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

So stoked you enjoyed the lesson, we understand that with knowledge of the enviroment and what we are suppose to do before we do it the sport is so much easier and we improve so much faster.
The better we are the more fun we have and the more fun we have the better we become.
Thanks for taking the time to review us Jake,
Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Surf also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to West Coast Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing