We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brent N
Auckland, New Zealand

Comfort after 3 days biking

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2024
Great location, superb food, comfortable bed. A great place to stay after 3 nights staying in huts on the Old Ghost Road.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Try the Venison Steak and Cheese pie!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Al fresco dining.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $98
  • Booking.com
41.4 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
41.8 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
41.8 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $104
  • Booking.com
41.3 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
42.0 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Booking.com
41.8 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
43.7 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Night night Westport
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $107
  • Booking.com
40.5 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
41.8 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
44.2 km from Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Westport
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
228
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
228
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower perfect end pizza great reward incredible food home cooked hot shower comfortable rooms feel so welcome a wonderful place to stay great host ghost tough river trail road completing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Our night at the Rough and Tumble was the icing on the cake of the Old Ghost Road experience. The lodge and the staff were warm and welcoming, the shower and beds were bliss, the food was amazing and we didn't want to leave! We'll be back for sure.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiness37378256053
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

Excellent place to experience before or after completing The Old Ghost Road Trail! Lovely rooms and comfy beds. Beautiful dinner and dessert. Relaxed friendly staff. Highly recommend. We stayed here thenight before starting the OGR trail.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

My husband and I had an incredible stay here for 2 nights
We had booked to tramp the OGR again however we had a few injuries so we had to cancel and so stayed the 2 nights as we had planned to stay 1 night at start and finish
The OHR trust were so accommodating with our changes and we were so glad we stayed 2
Excellent rooms
The ladies so helpful
Shelley’s cooking so delicious!!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024

The Rough and Tumble Bush Lodge exceeded our expectations. It was a great place to stay and regroup after 5 days tramping the old ghost road.
We were greeted by friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable, warm, clean and with excellent hot showers.
The food was fantastic and lots of it.
Try the outdoor hot shower overlooking the river. Very private.
Sit by the open fire in the evening with a glass of wine and just relax.
all in all, a great experience.

Room tip: Bring insect repellent if you want to sit outside.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

Comfortable, cosy lodge with everything you need for a good night in. Great food, beers and friendly welcoming staff.
The much talked about outdoor shower was and absolute treat. Would recommend staying here after completing the Old Ghost Road or even if just staying in the area.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews