We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
341
73
29
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
341
73
29
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi experience paddle boarding pizza one night private room lesson steve vibe hammocks instructor backpackers fireplace art legend westcoast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Unfortunately they did put me in a caravan instead of the double room that I booked through email, so that was disappointment number 1. Then the caravan turned out to be very old: the door didn't close properly, some of the lights didn't work, and I had to put two mattresses on top of each other to have some comfort. It's also quite noisy because it's outside next to the street, and the very bright outdoor lights go on every time someone walks past, which makes a good night of sleep nearly impossible.
I had booked for two nights, but then a situation at home required me to turn home earlier so that I could only stay one night. I was very disappointed that they were not willing to refund me that one night.
The positive thing is that the pizzas are very tasty. Maybe accommodation inside is ok, but I was unfortunately unable to test that.

Room tip: Make sure you are not staying in one of those caravans
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wilco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray Lunn, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Hi. you were told via email you were booking a caravan and you said not a problem you were also giving it for half price. It was marathon weekend so an extra 2000 people in town, sorry if you didn't like all the fit happy people at the hostel. I did offer you a free double on your return and also said you could bring your pet so you didn't have to leave and look after it like you did the other night. We have taken a big hit in the tourism industry due to covid so I really appreciate you stupid review. Thanks heaps dutchie. Why did all the good tourists go home and leave the wingers?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2020 via mobile

Excellent hostel! Great facilities and friendly staff the best thing though was the Surf Lesson! First time ever on a board and Steve had me standing up in no time ended up staying a week just to keep getting that 'feeling' that only we 'surfers' know. Close 2nd was the Pizza at night. Thanks Bazils will definitely come back.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank robertcD1729CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Bazils was such a bloody good hostel! Awesome art everywhere, great family surf lessons, primo wooodfire pizza and right across the road from a sick skate park, basketball court and soccer field. On top of that everyone was super nice and friendly! Would deffs reccommend!!!! Thanks for having us!! Xxxx

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Iswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We had really good time there. Peacefull place with quality amenities, helped and friendly staff, great pizzas in the evening and full equipped kitchen to cook your own meal.
You can enjoy surfing or paddlle boarding both are very nice.

2 steps from city centre

Just go !!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clarachauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

The staff is very sweet and welcoming
The hostel is close to the beach(2km) and the surfing course is absolutely amazing, the instructor Tom has a good energy
everyone at the course had a great time.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 135marier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews