We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anton Black
Christchurch, New Zealand

Most tranquil stay ever!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2022via mobile
What an amazing setting. We wish we could stay longer! We had the cottage for two nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Our hosts were super friendly and welcomed us on arrival. The cottage was extremely well appointed and had a very generous selection of breakfast options. We woke every morning to bird calls with a view to die for!! We highly recommend the cottage for your next breakaway!!!
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Chisnall, Owner at Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B, responded to this review
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thanks for your kind comments! We love that we can share our magic spot, with privacy for all. Would love to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.9 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.2 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
6.6 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
10.3 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Al fresco dining.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Basic Studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.3 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deck
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $108
  • Booking.com
10.3 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
10.3 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Booking.com
10.4 km from Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Westport
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
84
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
9
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2021

Was it a dream?
Impeccable inside/out, with high standard of amenities, The Cottage offers total privacy, unique views and so much more!
Excellent location for local walks and day trips.
Welcoming personal touch with free range eggs and breakfast goodies, and a hello from Izzi the dog!
Wendy and Wayne are friendly, approachable and professional.
There is no doubt that I will be back in my new-found paradise!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hortense11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Chisnall, Owner at Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thanks! It was nice to meet you, and we're pleased you enjoyed the magic of our cliff top getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Lovely welcome from the host's and Izzy their beautiful dog. The cottage is everything you could want or need. So warm, cosy and comfortable. Delightful garden, leading to the sea view that can be seen from the lounge. There is a couple of spots at the bottom of the garden where you can sit enjoy a wine and nibbles whilst taking in the view and fresh sea air. Delish continental breakfast including fresh eggs. There is nothing skimped at this accom. Close by, walks to see the seals and the lighthouse. The local tavern 5 min walk. Good restaurants. What more could you want. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank angel658477
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Chisnall, Owner at Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thanks, we appreciate your comments. Steeples Cottage is a unique location from which to explore all the mighty Buller offers; we're glad you found us, and we'd love to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

We stayed in the cottage - so spacious, beautiful garden, right on the coast - a home away from home. So relaxing and very special place. Pub down the road for meals. GREAT hosts - definitely recommend!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 317lynned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Chisnall, Owner at Steeples Cottage, Studio B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Thanks, we're pleased you enjoyed our magic spot! And agree, it's great having our local "Star Tavern" a couple of minutes walk up the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

Absolutely stunning views, beautiful gardens and immaculately clean, spacious and comfortable cottage. Really comfy bed and shower was great, lots of hot water and great water pressure. Bruce was friendly and welcoming, invited us to utilise his clifftop "man cave" during our stay. We wished we could have stayed longer than the 1 night we did, this was one of the best places we stayed on our tour of the South Island. It was a wild blustery night when we stayed so unfortunately we could not eat outside at the clifftop table, but we enjoyed being warm and cozy inside while still enjoying the view. We unreservedly recommend The Steeples as a fantastic place to stay and we will stay again when we next head south. Thanks Bruce for sharing your lovely cottage, it was simply awesome!

Room tip: Stand alone cottage private from the host's home with excellent views
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

The cottage is a lovely place to stay at. The house and especially the garden is fantastic. The cottage is well equipped with a kitchen, laundrette, a huge bedroom and a cozy living room (though we preferred having breakfast and dinner at the beautiful terrace - the view is simply spectacular). In the evening we did the short walk to the nearby lighthouse to see a nice sunset. A perfect stay, we would have loved to stay longer.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank SUTK2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews