We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jean g
Chard, United Kingdom

Lovely place

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2024via mobile
We stayed in a villa , which is in a lovely location. Rooms were good, beds comfortable. However the cooking facilities were a bit odd, microwave and toaster and kettle, limited cups and only small plates. No where to wash up or a tea towel to dry up. Just a cupboard in the corner. As there was only one bathroom, had to plan our kettle fill and showers.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $250
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $156
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.1 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $168
0.6 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$112
  • Priceline
    $122
  • Hotels.com
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.6 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Agoda.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Hotels.com
    $77
0.9 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free parking
Hot Tub - Only available with selected unit's(A Hot tub unit or a superior room)
$133
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $144
0.5 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $350
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
327
397
246
57
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
397
246
57
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

Marvellous location with great views of the lake. Very comfortable rooms. Staff not the friendliest especially the barman but overall ok. The egg man was filling the food trays so by the time he had cooked the eggs the rest of the breakfast was cold

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrundallbazNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

Having read some reviews we were a little concerned but need the location for our schedule - but were very pleasantly surprised, We had a room on the second floor , a deluxe suite rating. It had a large separate room with kitchenette and a good sized bedroom (and balcony). The bathroom had an enormous Jacuzzi tub - great to relax with a glass of wine after hiking earlier in the day. Yes, the rooms are a little dated but clean and spacious. Even though we had a lake view on the road it was quiet at night. Breakfast was buffet style and had fair to good selection. No coffee machine in the room and poor at breakfast - as for many NZ hotels best to order from the barista and pay the extra few dollars. But for comfort, size, short walk to restaurants and a view - it was absolutely fine for our short stay,

Room tip: Book a suite
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Tied to check in at 2 when rooms should be ready, had to sit in lounge till 3, had to go and ask for room key.

Went for dinner at 6.30, no rolls given, soup cold, steak chewy, after 2 hours 15 gave up and left without desert or coffee, good job only staying here one night

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ethel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Great location and really friendly, helpful staff. The hotel sits in the centre of Te Anau, overlooking the lake - picture perfect. There was a guest laundry room which was a great surprise and very welcome. The only suggestion for improvement is perhaps having whole fresh fruit at breakfast - the area is not too far from the fruit bowl of New Zealand.

Room tip: Lots of free parking and plenty of places to eat nearby.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gl0baltraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during the last leg of our fantastic NZ holiday. NZ hospitality is phenomenal and everywhere we go we are greeted with friendly faces. We have stayed at several hotels across South Island and they all have strength and deficiencies, esp around peak seasons when staff shortage is an issue. But we tend to gloss over the deficiencies because the people is so nice and soul of a hotel. But this hotel has some serious issues. It charges at premium price compared to hotels in Queenstown, but the facilities are really substandard. It’s like stepping into a time capsule of the 70s. There is no elevator and we have to wait for the poor overworked porter to bring them to 2nd floor, there were two suitcases in our room from the previous tenants which the porter had not had time to remove. My kid got stuck in the bathroom because the doorknob was faulty (luckily we opened it after a long time…. Sigh). We left the room at 5am and returned at 3pm but nobody serviced our rooms, the house staff and their trolleys were at the corridor right outside. When I asked them politely about servicing our room , they just changed the towels, I had to hand them the rubbish bins to empty. Guess they were temporary staff. The room has a pseudo-aircon knob that does not work, not even an air vent. We could not open the window due to sandflies and so it was like an oven all night since the weather has been warm. There was a fan in the room but quite noisy. The furnitures are all worn out and the carpets are just….sigh. I gave one more star to the ratings because of the great sunset outside our room and proximity to the restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bbyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews