We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ethel55
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

Spent most of time waiting for service

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2024
Tied to check in at 2 when rooms should be ready, had to sit in lounge till 3, had to go and ask for room key.

Went for dinner at 6.30, no rolls given, soup cold, steak chewy, after 2 hours 15 gave up and left without desert or coffee, good job only staying here one night
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$331
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $359
0.2 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $173
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.1 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.6 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.3 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$113
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $119
0.6 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.5 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free parking
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Expedia.com
    $78
  • Hotels.com
    $77
0.9 km from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
327
397
246
57
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
397
246
57
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Great location and really friendly, helpful staff. The hotel sits in the centre of Te Anau, overlooking the lake - picture perfect. There was a guest laundry room which was a great surprise and very welcome. The only suggestion for improvement is perhaps having whole fresh fruit at breakfast - the area is not too far from the fruit bowl of New Zealand.

Room tip: Lots of free parking and plenty of places to eat nearby.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gl0baltraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during the last leg of our fantastic NZ holiday. NZ hospitality is phenomenal and everywhere we go we are greeted with friendly faces. We have stayed at several hotels across South Island and they all have strength and deficiencies, esp around peak seasons when staff shortage is an issue. But we tend to gloss over the deficiencies because the people is so nice and soul of a hotel. But this hotel has some serious issues. It charges at premium price compared to hotels in Queenstown, but the facilities are really substandard. It’s like stepping into a time capsule of the 70s. There is no elevator and we have to wait for the poor overworked porter to bring them to 2nd floor, there were two suitcases in our room from the previous tenants which the porter had not had time to remove. My kid got stuck in the bathroom because the doorknob was faulty (luckily we opened it after a long time…. Sigh). We left the room at 5am and returned at 3pm but nobody serviced our rooms, the house staff and their trolleys were at the corridor right outside. When I asked them politely about servicing our room , they just changed the towels, I had to hand them the rubbish bins to empty. Guess they were temporary staff. The room has a pseudo-aircon knob that does not work, not even an air vent. We could not open the window due to sandflies and so it was like an oven all night since the weather has been warm. There was a fan in the room but quite noisy. The furnitures are all worn out and the carpets are just….sigh. I gave one more star to the ratings because of the great sunset outside our room and proximity to the restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bbyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

It is difficult to judge a hotel when it just reopens for the high season but that is when we arrived. The hotel is very large...and it easily accommodates large tour groups but that is the problem. It was a very long walk from the lobby to our room on the second floor with no elevator. Neither the pool nor hot tub were functioning. The view from out room was nice...looking out on Lake Te Anau. Could not get a dinner reservation at the hotel even though the hotel appeared quite empty. Fortunately, there are many fine restaurants all within walking distance.

Room tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room on the first floor.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamesl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023

A Hotel stuck in the 1990s.
1. Wifi is only "browsing speed". Who does this in 2023
2. The staff at the breakfast place was grumpy and rude
3. Extremely uncomfortable beds and room
Definite skip for this price point. Better to stay in Queenstown.

Room tip: Avoid the stay
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Freedom02636655480
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Great location overlooking the lake, the rooms were clean, a good size and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of off street parking and close to the room. Hotel just across the street from the lake shore, just a short walk to enjoy or star gaze on a clear night.

Room tip: Great location, clean spacious rooms with comfortable bed. Staff friendly and hotel just across the quiet room to the lake to enjoy the view
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews