We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$450
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$449
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$388
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,047)
Filter reviews
1,047 results
Traveller rating
324
392
246
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
324
392
246
56
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,047 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2020

We had a comfortable two day stay; our superior room was clean and well - appointed. It did get very warm in the room (the weather was warm and sunny) but a fan was already provided in lieu of air-conditioning.
We had the excellent buffet breakfast, plenty of choice and good value. We had dinner on one evening - a very good menu and wine list and a delicious meal.
All the staff were helpful, friendly and professional.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brent Stander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear Helen
Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020

This hotel has a lot of potential, but fails to meet that. The Distinction hotel is in a very nice location, right across the street from the water and just steps away from the shops in town. We were there as part of a tour group, so not able to give good judgment on cost/value relationship (because I do not know the rates we paid). However I would classify this hotel as 3 star, but with some effort could easily be a 4 star property.

On the plus side: Hotel GM boarded our bus upon arrival and greeted our group. No other hotel offered this personalized touch. In addition a member of his staff also boarded and provided us fresh hot towels! Again – a nice touch. My wife and I ate breakfast the next morning later than most people and we were practically alone in the Dining Room. Once again the GM came over and chatted with us. These are very nice examples of “hospitality”.
The lobby, bar and restaurant of the hotel are all very nice.
The location, as mentioned earlier is excellent.
They have a pool and the rooms are of good size and are bungalow/cabin style (individual units) rather than typical rooms in a long hallway.
Breakfast is good with a nice selection of items including eggs cooked to order.
All good.
What I did not care for was that we were there in summer and there was no Air Conditioning and no screens on windows. So you could not open the windows for fresh air if you did not wish to also invite mosquitoes or other insects. They did provide a small fan to circulate the air.
The property is expansive with accommodations in various cabins or cottages. This was a nice touch. But some of the outdoor public areas really need some TLC. The outside area we needed to pass through to get to our cottage was dismal looking. If I was traveling independently and that was all I would have seen of the hotel before booking, I would not have chosen the property. Fortunately some of these lack luster areas of the hotel were not indicative of everything.
So....all in all an acceptable stay. Fix the few areas of need and this can be a very nice hotel.

Room tip: If traveling in summer, ask for room with Air Conditioning or room with screens on windows.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ElioinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brent Stander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Dear James
Thanks for your comments and we will definitely take on board and use as a tool to make the necessary improvements.
We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and had a good holiday in New Zealand.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

Deluxe cabins hidden at the back of property with no view, every window was overlooked by another cabin or hotel building. The smell in the cabin was disgusting and the all rooms were stuffy and dusty. Very basic kitchen facilities, mismatched plates and cups, older style tvs, exterior dirty and garden beds empty or with dead plants and cigarette butts. Pool looked okay, spa/sauna bookings only!
I have paid much less for a 5 star resort! $380 is not value for money.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank StayDay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Tenith
Thanks for your review and we are disappointed to hear your comments although we have taken on board and will use as a tool to benchmark ourselves and ensure consistency in our offerings.
We will be sure to follow up with our team.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

My partner and I stayed with your team at Te Anau earlier this month (2/1-4/1) for our trip to Milford Sound. Unfortunately my partner hurt her foot while we were out and we needed to get to the Fiordland Medical Practice urgently. We called your front desk and Mr Dharama Sena quickly offered us a lift to and from the Medical Centre and was more than accommodating to our needs given the circumstances we were in. Travelling from Australia and not being familiar with the area. I cannot thank him enough and the service and hospitality he showed us in our time of need was second to none. I felt obliged to pass this feedback on - Thank you Mr Sena and Distinction Hotels.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoelT1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Joel
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are delighted to hear Dharama made a lasting impression, what a great guy he is!
We sincerely hope to see you back again and we hope your partners foot is better now
Have a great day.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

Lovely lake side view suite
The bedroom was big enough with a super comfy bed. The sitting room/dining area and kitchen were more than ample. The bathroom had a wonderful jacuzzi and could have stayed there all day! All mod cons laid on.
Very central and easy walk to shops and restaurants
Highly recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Wanda
Thanks for your glowing review and kind words of encouragement. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews