We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
284
330
216
45
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
330
216
45
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa lake view milford sound breakfast buffet new zealand tour group no air conditioning two double beds the main street the ground floor comfortable stay stayed here for one night small town town centre glow worm caves laundry facilities south island
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Great size rooms and very good decor. Lobby and dining areas very nice. Hallway to rooms a little tired but not esp important. Very limited number of tv channels & tv has no USB port. 2 min walk to city centre and is directly facing the lake. Very comfortable beds and very quiet. Masses of parking as alot of tour groups stay here. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Lake side is nice to have the view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Christine C,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear you found rooms of great size, good décor and the lobby and dining areas very nice.

We have taken your comments on board regarding the TV channels, USB port and will use as a tool when making future renovations to the hotel. We thank you for your sincere feedback and we believe it will help us in improving ourselves better. We cannot wait to welcome you back and showcase all the improvements we have made by then.

Kind regards
Dharama Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Rooms are large enough, clean and well-appointed in a very well presented 70s-style motel with a warm, ambient feel to it. Meals were good but dinner mains were small. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Glenn K,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and mentioning that 'Comfortable Accommodation"
I am very pleased to read that we have met your expectation. I will share your feedback with our team to continue create memorable experience for our guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Dharama Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I reserved the room with garden view, but I asked upgrade to lake view. The front staff was very kind and he upgraded our room with no extra charge. The room was clean & big enough and lake view was nice. The breakfast was delicious and every stuff was very friendly.
The location was great and walking distance.

Room Tip: Standard rooms with lake view is nice enough
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yukari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharama S, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Yukari M,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Distinction Te Anau Hotel & Villas.

Such a great pleasure to read that your stay was perfect with us. We are doing our best every day to provide an excellent service and I am so glad to learn that you enjoyed all the aspects of our hotel. It is really important to us to make every moment perfect for every guests, and to create a unique experience. Your comment is a great encouragement to all the team and rest assured that I will share it, especially to front staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm Regards,
Dharama Sena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We were here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay.
I can't say what other rooms were like, but ours was a lake view room and the sun was shining brightly, so we were able to sit on the patio outside the room and enjoy a beer while thinking to ourselves "is the weather always like this in New Zealand, because it seems to rain all the time in Northern Ireland"!
Anyway, our room had plenty of space, was clean and we thought the bathroom was certainly big enough.
For breakfast there was a choice of hot or cold buffet so we sampled both and were happy enough with what we had.
With the weather being so good, we took advantage of the good sized swimming pool, which was very clean and not freezing cold!
I don't know what other hotels in Te Anau are like, but if we should go back there (living 12,000 miles away, it won't be next week!) I'm not sure we would look much further than the Distinction.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a lake view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear David
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast in the restaurant.
We sincerely hope to see you back again one day.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and although we had booked a garden view room, we were upgraded to a lake view room.

We used the spa and sauna on both nights which exceeded our expectations as reception provided a key and we could use them exclusively.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mads737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Mads737
Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted we had an opportunity to upgrade you. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our teams southern hospitality. We sincerely hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews