We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
240
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand milford sound small deck kitchen area relaxing stay jane cottage hostess hosts lake fiordland lawn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Travelling with friends, we booked both Blue and Green cottage. Totally private from each other, set in Jane’s lovely garden. Both cottages well equipped and furnished. We voted the cottages as our best b&b stay during our travels around New Zealand. So peaceful, yet a short drive from the lakeside and restaurants and shops.
We enjoyed our chats with Jane over a lovely breakfast. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

We stayed in the Green cottage, such a quiet peaceful setting with a great view of the hills. There was ample space for us to relax in, even the cat Peny had space on the deck. The breakfast was outstanding with homemade jam and fresh poached fruit, and eggs cooked to your liking. The bathroom is a large wet room with no steps in to the shower. Both Ross and Jane were perfect hosts where nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljkandsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

We had a 3 day stay here and everything was perfect. We were greeted by Jane who showed us to our charmingly decorated cabin; large enough for three. Each of the two cabins has a bay window, looking through well-tended gardens to the sheep paddock and Lake Te Anau beyond. The cabins were well built by Ross and contain everything you need for your stay with a efficient barbeque at the back, microwave. TV and stereo and there were always a couple of vases of cut flowers! It was fun to watch the sheep on walks through grounds.
We couldn't praise the breakfasts highly enough. There is lots of delicious cereals, Jane's stewed fruit or freshly picked berries, yoghurt, toast and egg cooked to your requirements and Jane's apricot jam is the best you'll ever taste. Jane and Ross will tell you good places to see and talk about New Zealand. All in all it is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Croft in order to visit Doubtful Sound. Our day out at the Sound was great but, in all honesty, we could have happily spent the whole time just enjoying this lovely b&b. The green cottage was clean, crisp, comfy and flooded with light with a lovely window seat to gaze at the fabulous view. You can stroll from your door straight down to the lake. Breakfast was superb. Wish we’d had an extra day.
Thank you too Jane for the tip re stopping off at Nugget Point en route to Dunedin. We’d have missed a real treat otherwise.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GardnersWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this place slightly outside of Te Anau on the road to Milford Sound. The cottage had a very nice size and almost everything you might need (and if anything was "missing", you could ask Jane for it and she'd sort it out immediately). Unfortunately we didn't have as much time as needed to discover more of Fiordland aside from Milford, but if we have the chance to come back, we will make sure to stay at the Croft again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garuda7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews