We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emerald G
East Anglia, United Kingdom

Excellent value for money, clean and well located.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2023via mobile
Great location enroute to Milford Sound.
Robin could not have been more helpful.
Two bed older style unit was fine, very clean and comfortable. Well equipped and organised. Warm and cosy. We had a carport and easy access to town. Brilliant shower with great water pressure. Thank you.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Always book restaurants in advance. Try the Fat Duck or The Ranch.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Emarald,
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I would love to host you again sometime.
Cheers
Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.5 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free parking
Garden View
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $274
  • Tripadvisor
    $274
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$115
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.1 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $345
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
162
64
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
64
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound across the road milford track doc office cooking facilities town centre the kitchen nice room great shower a wonderful stay living area comfortable beds robin unit robyn host motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2023

I stayed for business in a large room in their 'new' block upstairs. The room was very good - very well appointed, lots of space with good kitchen facilities and great shower/bathroom. Bed was also very comfortable. I'd definitely recommend this motel to others.

Room tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor in the new block.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernel_Mustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi there,
Thank you for your kind words and please, come and stay again.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

The place is categorized as a “motel” but the place and the service is like a 4 stars hotel. Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable and are equipped with a kitchen. There is a huge bed, great shower and AC. The service is great as well. Happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael_Hsecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi Michael,
Thank you for your kind words and I hope I can host you again sometime.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Red Tussock for four nights with
our two young kids. It was a great base for tours to Milford & Doubtful Sounds and the Glow worm Cave. The room was in a new building, very clean, spacious, well presented and comfortable. It had a big king size bed in the bedroom and a queen size sofa bed in the living area. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom (shower only) clean and spacious. The Manager Robin was very helpful and even did a load of washing for us and lent us some Tomato Sauce. The motel is an easy 10 min (with young kids) walk along the lake from the town centre.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi Jifer,
Thank you for your kind words and I hope you can stay again sometime.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2023

My wife and I stayed for 3 wonderful Nights.
Upon arrival, Robin, Hotel Manager, greeted
us and showed us our accommodations. It
was very spacious and clean, especially for
2 people.

We had cleaning services once and did they
do a tremendous job. They even washed 3
dirty cooking pans from dinner the night before.

Great Job Robin….please share with your staff.

We Highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi Albert,
Thank you and yes, I will share this with the team.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2023 via mobile

Unattractive (absent) decor. The bedspreads were a dark print, couldn’t tell what was hiding there. Same with the dark colored towels. There was no air conditioning and it was hot. There were no views from our unit. But the basics were there and things seemed to be clean.

Room tip: There may have been a newer section, which we didn’t see, with better provisions.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rockerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews