We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michael H
New York City, New York

Great

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2023via mobile
The place is categorized as a “motel” but the place and the service is like a 4 stars hotel. Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable and are equipped with a kitchen. There is a huge bed, great shower and AC. The service is great as well. Happy to stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Michael,
Thank you for your kind words and I hope I can host you again sometime.
Cheers
Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Hotels.com
    $221
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.3 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$164
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.1 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$332
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $332
  • Hotels.com
    $332
  • Trip.com
    $332
0.4 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Hotels.com
    $132
0.5 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$207
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • StayForLong
0.5 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$45
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Trip.com
    $88
  • Agoda.com
    $76
0.3 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free parking
Garden View
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $274
  • Vio.com
    $261
  • Hotels.com
    $274
0.6 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$243
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $241
  • Agoda.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $243
0.9 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$103
  • Priceline
    $103
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Hotels.com
    $103
1.2 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.8 km from Red Tussock Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
162
64
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
64
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound across the road milford track doc office cooking facilities town centre the kitchen nice room great shower a wonderful stay living area comfortable beds robin unit robyn host motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Red Tussock for four nights with
our two young kids. It was a great base for tours to Milford & Doubtful Sounds and the Glow worm Cave. The room was in a new building, very clean, spacious, well presented and comfortable. It had a big king size bed in the bedroom and a queen size sofa bed in the living area. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom (shower only) clean and spacious. The Manager Robin was very helpful and even did a load of washing for us and lent us some Tomato Sauce. The motel is an easy 10 min (with young kids) walk along the lake from the town centre.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi Jifer,
Thank you for your kind words and I hope you can stay again sometime.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2023

My wife and I stayed for 3 wonderful Nights.
Upon arrival, Robin, Hotel Manager, greeted
us and showed us our accommodations. It
was very spacious and clean, especially for
2 people.

We had cleaning services once and did they
do a tremendous job. They even washed 3
dirty cooking pans from dinner the night before.

Great Job Robin….please share with your staff.

We Highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi Albert,
Thank you and yes, I will share this with the team.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2023 via mobile

Unattractive (absent) decor. The bedspreads were a dark print, couldn’t tell what was hiding there. Same with the dark colored towels. There was no air conditioning and it was hot. There were no views from our unit. But the basics were there and things seemed to be clean.

Room tip: There may have been a newer section, which we didn’t see, with better provisions.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rockerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

Only good things to say! Welcomed warmly by Robin. Room was spotlessly clean- I mean absolutely spotless and there is everything you could imagine needing in the kitchen. 100% would stay here again! Location is also perfect, between water and town.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KK352
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Hi there,
Thank you for your kind words and I hope to host you again sometime.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2022 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this motel. It has a great location, across the road from the beautiful Lake Te Anau and a short walk to restaurants and shops.
The rooms were spacious and well equipped and Robin the manager was very welcoming and kind and showed us around. He was also very helpful and made us feel very safe and comfortable at the motel.

Would definitley recommend!!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jesshope24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
irene Benfell, Owner at Red Tussock Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2022

Thank you for your kind words and I hope I can host you again sometime.
Cheers
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews