We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
colleen_cc
Tampa, Florida

Incredible property with lake views, excellent service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Radfords on the Lake was one of the best small hotels we’ve ever enjoyed during our world travels! We visited Te Anau to be able to see Milford Sound. The hotel has a prime spot on the lake and offers beautiful views, as well as excellent accommodations.

Upon checking in Kerri was warm and knowledgeable, providing recommendations on local dining / things to do - we enjoyed the Fiordland Cinema, Black Dog Bar, Sandfly Cafe, and Lakefront Cafe thanks to her guidance. She recommended several stops along the drive to Milford Sound for the views and she was spot on with all her recommendations. We had the best drive based on her list of must do stops!

On top of that the hotel is in pristine condition and clearly shows pride of ownership. We were offered an upgraded room facing the lake which was well stocked and well maintained. From the bedding to the furnishings and appliances, it is clear that the owners put a lot of work into making their hotel high end despite the small size of the property. The washer and dryer on-site was fast and easy to use.

Out of all our travels…this is one place where we felt welcomed like old friends! Excellent value for the stay we enjoyed.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Colleen, Wow, we are absolutely delighted to read your incredibly kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and exploring Fiordland. We are delighted you have many fond memories of our local recommandations, Thank you so much for spending time with us on your New Zealand adventure, it was our pleasure to take care of you. We look forward to your return and showing you even more of Fiordland! Travel safely and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$168
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$163
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hot Tub - Only available with selected unit's(A Hot tub unit or a superior room)
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$123
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $271
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
796
149
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
796
149
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place, nicely furnished and fully equipped - even has a charger cable, tealight candles and anti-bacterial wipes. We loved the two-person spa and the fluffy towels which were replenished daily. Also good tea selection. the hotel is right across the road from the lake and we specifically booked a room with a lakeview. Kerri is super friendly and helpful and gives excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities - we particularly loved her suggestion for the Cascade Creek walk. We would love to come back again next year and would certainly stay at Radfords.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words Roger. It was so lovely to take care of you both and we are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and showing you even more of Fiordland! We hope you have a wonderful New Zealand Holiday. Travel safe and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2024

My wife & I loved out 4 night stay at Radfords! The location, room, setting & facilities were all great.

Kerri was super helpful with other arrangements & recommendations while we were in Fiordland National Park which made our trip even more special.

We also took advantage of their loaner bikes as well as the kitchen, grilling & patio area for cooking up a tasty meal.

If you're able to stay at Radfords on the Lake, you'll be pleased with your choice

Room tip: They have a great set-up for cooking & eating your own meal on the patio, everything that is needed. Loaner bikes are also really handy
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64jdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and thoughtful review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you explore so much of Fiordland! It was so lovely getting to know you both and we hope we are able to welcome you back to Radfords again if you ever venture back to our corner of the world. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

What a great decision to stay at Radfords on the Lake while I was based in Te Anau walking the three Great Walks - Milford, Kepler and Routeburn. Kerri was most helpful storing our excess bags while we were away hiking. These were in our room awaiting our arrival on our return. We appreciated the use of the laundry facilities to wash our hiking gear before the next hike.
The rooms we had were beautifully clean, well appointed and the beds super comfortable. We really did enjoy the hot showers after our hikes. The location was perfect and within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Tracknet buses picked us up from a few metres from the Motel which was convenient as well.
Thank you Kerri. If we are ever down in Te Anau again we’ll definitely stay with you again.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KiwiLizJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 13 April 2024

Dear Liz, thank you for your kind words and choosing to stay with us, so pleased you enjoyed your time here and it was lovely to take care of you and store your luggage between your three Great Walks, you will have gone home for a rest! We look forward to you bring your Hubby back with you for more exploring in Fiordland. Take Care and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Kerri is an excellent host. She seems to be always there! The suite was lovely. Clean, plenty of room. The continental breakfast was refreshed each day. It was easy to walk anywhere in town, and to the kayaking place. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 April 2024

Dear Lay,

Thank you for your very kind words and choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here as we enjoyed hosting you. Wishing you safe travels and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Radford’s. Our accommodation was very comfortable and well- equipped, with a lovely view of the lake. Kerri was an amazing host. Her local knowledge was invaluable. We had a great time on the tours that she recommended, and her instructions on how and when to get there were spot-on. Her suggestions regarding local eateries were greatly appreciated too. Thank you so much for your hospitality and your help Kerri.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 1 April 2024

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are trilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to provide exceptional service, and it means a lot to us to know that we succeeded in making your visit memorable. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Safe travels and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews