We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$359
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$344
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Simon Gardiner
Gisborne, New Zealand
Outstanding!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2021
Surperb location with views across Lake Te Anau, a short walk to restaurants and the Fiordland National Park Visitor Centre. Rooms are quiet and maintained to an impeccable standard. Service provided by Kerri is highly personalised and quite simply oustanding. My wife and I have stayed on 3 separate occassions prior to walking the Milford, Routeburn and Kepler tracks and are so impressed I literally signed up to Trip Advisor just so I could post this review. You wont be disappointed!
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Powered site
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.6 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.0 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021

First motel we have stayed in that made us feel reluctant to go out. Would have been easy to spend the night in, nestled in the comfort of our lakeside room with a good view of the lake. Quality furnishings throughout, with everything you could possible need including the stunning communal barbeque area. The attention to detail extends from the high level of cleanliness of the rooms to the well maintained gardens and grounds. Kerri and her staff clearly understand hospitality and go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Their tips and recommendations on activities and dining experiences (easy walking distance to town) helped to take our stay in Te Anau to the next level. Sadly we were only staying the one night, looking forward to making it a little longer next time.

Room tip: All the rooms are high quality, however second floor rooms have a better lake view.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shjr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 6 April 2021

Dear Shjy50

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that all aspects of your stay combined to ensure it was a memorable experience for you. We love hosting our fellow New Zealanders to showcase what Fiordland has too offer and you certainly had a memorable time!

We do look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest Regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021 via mobile

We chose Radford’s on the Lake for one of our recommended places to stay while in Te Anau for our wedding! Kerri & Steve are hosts who go above & beyond & nothing is ever a problem. The rooms are 5 star comfort & the spa bath in the room is relaxing heaven! They have thought of everything from lavender scented pillow bags, lake views, communal areas and superb knowledge of the area they are more than willing to share with guests! If your looking for a place with zen & that brings you all the comforts you can dream of, with smiles and greetings like not other, then don’t look any further! Worth every cent you won’t be disappointed! We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank oliviaannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 1 April 2021

Dear Oliviaanew

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your some of your wedding guests. We just loved hosting you all and I know it was a weeknd to remeber for everyone. We are delighted our property and facilities hit the spot for you all and we wish you all the very best for your future together. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Radfords would be the nicest motel I have stayed in in NZ. Room was immaculate and the location right on the lakeside with an easy walk into the town. Made the booking, by phone, with Kerri who made me feel welcome long before we even arrived. She recommended a Milford Sound trip to us and booked us in for what was an amazing experience. She recommended restaurants, cafes etc. Definitely a 5* experience all round.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 590dianeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 23 March 2021

Dear 590dianeh
We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was so enjoyable and that all aspects, including the comfort of your room, presentation, location and the service you received from our team, met with and hopefully exceeded your expectations. So pleased our recommendations hit the spot, we are delighted that you have fond memories of your time here.

Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve, Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

Well positioned complex on lakefront with good views and easy walk to restaurants. Quality appointed apartments with five star consumables.
Kerri the owner manager provides very helpful advice on what to do and see around Te Anau.

Room tip: The upper floor rooms have best views of the lake and mountains.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickM37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 18 March 2021

Dear WarwickM37 Thank you so much for your kind words Warwick, and we pleased your enjoyed our hospitality, views, location and our property. You were both a delight to host and so pleased your time in Te Anau was a pleasant one. We hope you have many fond memories of your Fiordland experience and look forward to hosting you again in the future. Travel safe and with Kind Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

The rooms are very well appointed & spacious, the views great, the location so close to the lake and town center...and the list goes on. However it was the wonderful friendly relaxed professional service that Kerri and her staff provide that really made my stay so enjoyable. Nothing was a bother to Kerri, I was in her office as she welcomed guests, handled phone inquiries and just made everyone feel so welcomed. Thanks so much Kerri.....you are a gem.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CushQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 14 March 2021

Dear CushQT

Thank you for your very kind words, We really appreciate you taking the time out of your extremely busy day to share your experience. You were an absoulte pleasure to host and we had such a fantastic time with you. We look forward to doing this again with you in the future. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews