We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$359
Expedia.com
$422
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$359
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John QT
Queenstown, New Zealand

What a very special place.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2021
The rooms are very well appointed & spacious, the views great, the location so close to the lake and town center...and the list goes on. However it was the wonderful friendly relaxed professional service that Kerri and her staff provide that really made my stay so enjoyable. Nothing was a bother to Kerri, I was in her office as she welcomed guests, handled phone inquiries and just made everyone feel so welcomed. Thanks so much Kerri.....you are a gem.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review
Responded 13 Mar 2021
Dear CushQT

Thank you for your very kind words, We really appreciate you taking the time out of your extremely busy day to share your experience. You were an absoulte pleasure to host and we had such a fantastic time with you. We look forward to doing this again with you in the future. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
Booking.com
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $265
  • Hotels.com
    $274
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$45
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $77
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $147
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
    $115
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.6 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
795
149
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
795
149
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Can very highly recommend Radfords on the lake as a great place to stay if in Te Anau. Kerri is a most welcoming and friendly host, we stayed in the beautifully appointed two bedroom unit for three days. Room was immaculately clean, and awesome views out onto the lake. Just a short walk and you are in the centre of town, easy walk to restaurants and shops.

Avis

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank avisp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 12 March 2021

Dear Avis, Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us for your special occassion, it was our pleasure look after you and delighted that your found Rdfords on the Lake clean, well presented and welcoming along with our location being close to Cafes, Restaurants and the town centre. We appreciate you reviewing your time with us. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Sadly genuine Kiwi hospitality is fast becoming a scarce entity in our major tourism hotspots. We were appalled to hear that many of the accomodation sites in Te Anau have owners residing in a very large country east of Suez. However Radfords on the Lake is owned and operated by a delightful Kiwi duo, Kerri and Steve together with the star attraction, "Dexter Dude" the sealpoint Ragdoll cat.
Other reviewers have fairly described Radfords; spacious, pristine units, well maintained with up to date amenities. The location is superb with great views over the lake, an easy stroll into the main street, and the all important silence overnight. The beds are very comfortable and daily servicing is to a very high standard. We chose the upstairs larger units together with the breakfast option and would highly recommend this combination to to others. We greatly appreciated the upgrade! Small touches like the nightly Whittakers chocolates and access to a spotless guest laundry are clearly the reason this motel is No.1 on Tripadvisor!

We wanted to visit Milford and Doubtful Sounds and were grateful for the excellent advice given by Kerri. The operators she recommended were universally excellent- we came away feeling as though we had a great overview of Fiordland and in keeping with all good, travels, thoughts turned to return visits! Kerri was very helpful with restaurant advice and local information; you will not find a better ambassador for New Zealand tourism and this lady should be given an award by those who run the organisation! Always available, always cheerful and helpful!
We thoroughly enjoyed our four days at ROTL and will return. If you don't stay here when visiting Te Anau, then you are doing yourself a disservice! Well done Kerri, Steve, Dexter and all of the team at Radfords

Room tip: Top floor big rooms
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 February 2021

Dear Drurolnz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and for your lovely comments.

We really enjoy hosting and sharing our local knowledge with our guests so we are delighted that you have had a great overview of Fiordland. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both and we would love the opportunity to have you stay again - there is still plenty more that Fiordland has on offer for your next trip.

Kindest regards,
Kerri & Steve James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021 via mobile

wow...loved our stay at the Radford, friendly host(and cat 🐈)clean room with magnificent views, perfect for a short or long stay. walking distance to everything, food ,shops,lake,attractions. great spot to base yourself for a trip to milford. our host gave us excellent advice on where to eat and where to stop on way to milford, all were spot on.will be back...

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brentAtga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 February 2021

Dear Wendy and Brent

We are thrilled to hear your recent stay with us was such an enjoyable experience including meeting Dexter our Ragdoll Cat and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion when we hope you you can explore more of Fiordland. Thank you for supporting our small family business and taking the time to place your review. Safe travels and Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful motel in our favourite location of Te Anau. Yes the unit we had was definitely on the upper end of our budget, but well worth it. People are friendly, unit was fantastic.. We both loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a great 2 days.

Room tip: Unit 10, 2 separate bedrooms, balcony, lounge, kitchenette, bathroom
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HenriNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 9 February 2021

Dear HenriNo1

Thank you so much for staying with us and your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Radfords on the Lake. You both wre a pleasure to host and we hope the remainder of your trip goes just as well, we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kindest Regards Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

Room was massive, perfectly clean, had an awesome view, super fast wifi, and great kitchen equipment. We were travelling with someone with allergies who couldn't eat at restaurants and we never had any trouble cooking nice meals. When we checked in, the staff gave us a full rundown of where to go & eat in town and helped us organise how to get to milford sound early the next day. The hotel cat is also really good value.

Room tip: Best views on the top floor, probably worth the extra price.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 660caitlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 21 January 2021

Dear Caitlin

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we greatly appreciate your support. We are delighted that you enjoyed the great wifi, spacious units, cleanliness, along with the view and service you recieved from Kylie. Our Ragdoll Cat "Dexter" does like to intereact with our guests... sadly it is always on his terms!

Agian, thank you for staying with us, we hope you have many fond memories of Fiordland.

Kindest Regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews