We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$359
Priceline
$359
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$344
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Henri
Luxury at the top of the scale
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Feb 2021
We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful motel in our favourite location of Te Anau. Yes the unit we had was definitely on the upper end of our budget, but well worth it. People are friendly, unit was fantastic.. We both loved it and wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a great 2 days.
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: Unit 10, 2 separate bedrooms, balcony, lounge, kitchenette, bathroom
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Trip.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$275
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $70
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • eDreams
    $105
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$288
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Expedia.com
    $256
1.6 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2021

Room was massive, perfectly clean, had an awesome view, super fast wifi, and great kitchen equipment. We were travelling with someone with allergies who couldn't eat at restaurants and we never had any trouble cooking nice meals. When we checked in, the staff gave us a full rundown of where to go & eat in town and helped us organise how to get to milford sound early the next day. The hotel cat is also really good value.

Room tip: Best views on the top floor, probably worth the extra price.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 660caitlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 21 January 2021

Dear Caitlin

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we greatly appreciate your support. We are delighted that you enjoyed the great wifi, spacious units, cleanliness, along with the view and service you recieved from Kylie. Our Ragdoll Cat "Dexter" does like to intereact with our guests... sadly it is always on his terms!

Agian, thank you for staying with us, we hope you have many fond memories of Fiordland.

Kindest Regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

This is one of the most luxurious hotel I have stayed in. Quiet modern rooms with a beautiful colour scheme. Spotless and very well equiped. Quality bed linen, very comfortable beds and beautiful soft fluffy towels.
Kerrie the owner was very welcoming and made sure we had all we required for a restful stay.
We would certainly recommend this for a luxury stay in Te Anau

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BevH52trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 12 January 2021

Dear Bev

Thankyou for taking a moment to to review your stay with us, it was a pleasure to host you and share our little corner of NZ. We are delighted to hear that your appreciated our linen and bedding along with the cleanliness. Thanks for supporting our small family business, this is greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2021

- Great location -
Right in front of the lake, short walking distance to the main street where you can find cafes, restaurants and shops.
We stayed in upstairs 2 bedroom apartment and had a beautiful late view.

- Modern rooms -
Very clean and comfortable. Well thought out amenities and nice beddings.
Each bedroom has 1 King bed and 1 single bed, which works perfectly when traveling with children or other family members.
Didn't hear any noise from rooms next to us or under.
Shower water pressure was great but the shower head was fixed to the wall and wish it was a little higher.
I can't say rooms are very spacious but comfortable enough to walk around.

- Facility -
Spacious parking area at the front, you can park big cars comfortably.
Backyard has BBQ and seating area.
Laundry rooms on each floor where you can use the washing machine free of charge, laundry powder was also provided. Dryer costs only $2.

- Excellent service -
Very friendly customer service, she recommended lots of things in town for us and even lended us water proof jackets that helped us a lot on the Milford Sound cruise.
Thoughtful amenities such as makeup removers, chocolates, candles, sawing set, ear plugs...

Overall, we had a great stay at Radfords on the Lake and we are very happy.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aya485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 January 2021

Dear Aya485,

Thanks so much for your assessment of your recent visit staying with us, so pleased your enjoyed your time here. You and your family were delightful to host and we hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland.

Should the occassion arise we would love to host you again should you come this way.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

This is probably one of the best motels we have stayed at in NZ. Kerri the owner was so friendly and helpful ...I reckon this is the secret of their success as this motel gets some pretty great reviews.
The room we had was upstairs and faced the lake...awesome view and the room was really well appointed. Good little kitchen... if we were staying longer we would prefer a larger fridge but this is a small criticism. Rooms were quiet, bed was comfy and shower had good pressure.
The motel is also a short walking distance to all the restaurants and shops.
We can’t wait to come back, just wish Te Anau was a little closer to Christchurch.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
21  Thank Toni-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 9 January 2021

Dear Toni-Wayne

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and for choosing Radfords on the Lake . So pleased your room, the view and the showers hit the spot. We pride ourselves on personal, friendly service so it's fantastic to hear this left great impression during your stay. We are proud to share our slice of paradise with travellers with recommendations on places to eat and experiences in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you both back should you come this way in the future.

Warm regards,

Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Radfords on the Lake prior to and following doing the Milford track. Unfortunately I was injured and Kerri was incredibly kind and caring ensuring I had everything I needed and treating me like a friend or relative. The hotel is beautiful, absolutely spotless, the views of the lake and mountains are lovely from the rooms. I was blown away by the kindness and generosity of Kerri and the people of Te Anau. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joellef662
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 January 2021

Dear Joelle

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words. We certainly were happy to help where we could after your injury and trust your recovery goes well for you. We are so dlighted that you loved your stay in here with us and your time in Te Anau, where there is a true community feel. We do hope you will be back again soon, with your family to complete the Milford Track.

Kindest regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews