We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$334
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bev
Luxury in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2021
This is one of the most luxurious hotel I have stayed in. Quiet modern rooms with a beautiful colour scheme. Spotless and very well equiped. Quality bed linen, very comfortable beds and beautiful soft fluffy towels.
Kerrie the owner was very welcoming and made sure we had all we required for a restful stay.
We would certainly recommend this for a luxury stay in Te Anau
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $288
1.6 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Priceline
    $118
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $212
  • Priceline
    $246
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $119
  • Priceline
    $140
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $217
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
792
148
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2021

- Great location -
Right in front of the lake, short walking distance to the main street where you can find cafes, restaurants and shops.
We stayed in upstairs 2 bedroom apartment and had a beautiful late view.

- Modern rooms -
Very clean and comfortable. Well thought out amenities and nice beddings.
Each bedroom has 1 King bed and 1 single bed, which works perfectly when traveling with children or other family members.
Didn't hear any noise from rooms next to us or under.
Shower water pressure was great but the shower head was fixed to the wall and wish it was a little higher.
I can't say rooms are very spacious but comfortable enough to walk around.

- Facility -
Spacious parking area at the front, you can park big cars comfortably.
Backyard has BBQ and seating area.
Laundry rooms on each floor where you can use the washing machine free of charge, laundry powder was also provided. Dryer costs only $2.

- Excellent service -
Very friendly customer service, she recommended lots of things in town for us and even lended us water proof jackets that helped us a lot on the Milford Sound cruise.
Thoughtful amenities such as makeup removers, chocolates, candles, sawing set, ear plugs...

Overall, we had a great stay at Radfords on the Lake and we are very happy.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aya485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 10 January 2021

Dear Aya485,

Thanks so much for your assessment of your recent visit staying with us, so pleased your enjoyed your time here. You and your family were delightful to host and we hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland.

Should the occassion arise we would love to host you again should you come this way.

Best Wishes

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

This is probably one of the best motels we have stayed at in NZ. Kerri the owner was so friendly and helpful ...I reckon this is the secret of their success as this motel gets some pretty great reviews.
The room we had was upstairs and faced the lake...awesome view and the room was really well appointed. Good little kitchen... if we were staying longer we would prefer a larger fridge but this is a small criticism. Rooms were quiet, bed was comfy and shower had good pressure.
The motel is also a short walking distance to all the restaurants and shops.
We can’t wait to come back, just wish Te Anau was a little closer to Christchurch.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
21  Thank Toni-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 9 January 2021

Dear Toni-Wayne

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and for choosing Radfords on the Lake . So pleased your room, the view and the showers hit the spot. We pride ourselves on personal, friendly service so it's fantastic to hear this left great impression during your stay. We are proud to share our slice of paradise with travellers with recommendations on places to eat and experiences in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you both back should you come this way in the future.

Warm regards,

Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Radfords on the Lake prior to and following doing the Milford track. Unfortunately I was injured and Kerri was incredibly kind and caring ensuring I had everything I needed and treating me like a friend or relative. The hotel is beautiful, absolutely spotless, the views of the lake and mountains are lovely from the rooms. I was blown away by the kindness and generosity of Kerri and the people of Te Anau. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joellef662
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 January 2021

Dear Joelle

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words. We certainly were happy to help where we could after your injury and trust your recovery goes well for you. We are so dlighted that you loved your stay in here with us and your time in Te Anau, where there is a true community feel. We do hope you will be back again soon, with your family to complete the Milford Track.

Kindest regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Exactly as it promises on the website; very clean, modern, great views and even better friendly service from the hosts. Has all the extras you need when away from home. I always return when visiting Te Anau.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Excursion59442
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 5 January 2021

Gerard, thank you so much for your kind words, we so appreciate you taking the time to place your review and we are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at Radfords on the Lake, we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Amazing location, easy 5min walk to the shops and restaurants with Lake Te Anau literally opposite the front door. Room was very clean and tidy and the staff were so helpful. Really comfy bed, and laundry facilities were perfect. The free bikes were a great way to spend a couple of hours along the lake. It rained a couple of days but the free Sky TV channels sorted that :)
If you want to visit Milford or Doubtful Sounds, as well as relaxing in Te Anau, you should base yourself here, can't recommend it enough.
Will definitely return !!

Room tip: Lakefront rooms have great natural light and zero street noise.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dexterisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 January 2021

Dear Dexterisking

We are thrilled to hear that all aspects of your recent stay combined to ensure you enjoyed such a memorable experience. You were a pleasure to host and hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kindest regards
Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews