We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Toni-Wayne
Christchurch, New Zealand

Awesome motel in Te Anau

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2021via mobile
This is probably one of the best motels we have stayed at in NZ. Kerri the owner was so friendly and helpful ...I reckon this is the secret of their success as this motel gets some pretty great reviews.
The room we had was upstairs and faced the lake...awesome view and the room was really well appointed. Good little kitchen... if we were staying longer we would prefer a larger fridge but this is a small criticism. Rooms were quiet, bed was comfy and shower had good pressure.
The motel is also a short walking distance to all the restaurants and shops.
We can’t wait to come back, just wish Te Anau was a little closer to Christchurch.
Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jan 2021
Dear Toni-Wayne

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and for choosing Radfords on the Lake . So pleased your room, the view and the showers hit the spot. We pride ourselves on personal, friendly service so it's fantastic to hear this left great impression during your stay. We are proud to share our slice of paradise with travellers with recommendations on places to eat and experiences in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you both back should you come this way in the future.

Warm regards,

Kerri and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$206
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$216
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $216
0.1 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
$274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $274
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hot Tub - Only available with selected unit's(A Hot tub unit or a superior room)
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$101
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
$87
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $87
0.8 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $179
0.4 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $175
0.2 km from Radfords on the Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
797
148
32
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
797
148
32
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound the ground floor new zealand little touches room was spotless a wonderful stay three nights stayed longer across the road comfortable beds living area south island comfortable stay close to town kerri kerry lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

We stayed at Radfords on the Lake prior to and following doing the Milford track. Unfortunately I was injured and Kerri was incredibly kind and caring ensuring I had everything I needed and treating me like a friend or relative. The hotel is beautiful, absolutely spotless, the views of the lake and mountains are lovely from the rooms. I was blown away by the kindness and generosity of Kerri and the people of Te Anau. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joellef662
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 8 January 2021

Dear Joelle

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words. We certainly were happy to help where we could after your injury and trust your recovery goes well for you. We are so dlighted that you loved your stay in here with us and your time in Te Anau, where there is a true community feel. We do hope you will be back again soon, with your family to complete the Milford Track.

Kindest regards
Kerri and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Exactly as it promises on the website; very clean, modern, great views and even better friendly service from the hosts. Has all the extras you need when away from home. I always return when visiting Te Anau.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Excursion59442
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 5 January 2021

Gerard, thank you so much for your kind words, we so appreciate you taking the time to place your review and we are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at Radfords on the Lake, we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Amazing location, easy 5min walk to the shops and restaurants with Lake Te Anau literally opposite the front door. Room was very clean and tidy and the staff were so helpful. Really comfy bed, and laundry facilities were perfect. The free bikes were a great way to spend a couple of hours along the lake. It rained a couple of days but the free Sky TV channels sorted that :)
If you want to visit Milford or Doubtful Sounds, as well as relaxing in Te Anau, you should base yourself here, can't recommend it enough.
Will definitely return !!

Room tip: Lakefront rooms have great natural light and zero street noise.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dexterisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 January 2021

Dear Dexterisking

We are thrilled to hear that all aspects of your recent stay combined to ensure you enjoyed such a memorable experience. You were a pleasure to host and hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kindest regards
Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

We spent 2 nights at this motel just before Christmas. It was absolutely fabulous with superb views down the lake. Fabulous location as well, walking distance to shops and restuarants . Keri went out of her way to help in every way, she even loaned us raincoats and sandfly spray when we took a trip out to Milford. We actually didnt need either. Would highly recomend this motel to anyone wanting to stay in Te Anau.
Kay

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 4 January 2021

Dear Kay

We sincerely appreciate your very kind words, and we thank you for taking a few minutes to post your comments. We are delighted that you found our location, views and Southern Hospitality suited your needs.

It would be our pleasure to see you again in the future.

Happy New Year to you.

Kind Regards
Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020

Fantastic accommodation clean and tidy
The hosts are so friendly and you must listen to the advice on where to go and what to see
We did a fantastic tour on Fiordland’s tour friendly knowledgeable local staff
100% recommend to stay at Radfords

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank debbiehV1022PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 29 December 2020

Dear Debbieh

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear that all aspects of your recent stay with us met with and hopefully surpassed your expectations . I am so pleased you took local advise and done this small Coach and Cruise to Milford... it is the way to go... getting to and from Milford is more than half your experience with local operators and drivers and the local commentary is the cherry on the top!

You both were a delight to host and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Happy New Year!

Kind Regards

Kerri and Steve
Radfords on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews