We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$124
Priceline
$116
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$110
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nancy R
Atlantic Beach, Florida

Come for clean comfort not luxury

Review of Alpenhorn Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Dec 2017via mobile
The person who checked us in was friendly and happy to help us with early check in. The place is simple, but clean and comfortable. We used this place to travel into Milford Sound and back (2hrs each way), great choice since there’s only 1 small lodge on the Sound this is as close as we could get to avoid extra hour each way back to Queenstown, while a bus from Queenstown to Milford would have been nice if you rent your own car there are so many cool trails and spots to stop at along the 2 hour drive to the Sound I recommend renting a car and staying in Te Anau...this is also best way to take advantage of twilight kayak tour (currently only by Roscoe) because main buses don’t depart Milford Sound that late in the day. Twilight on the Sound in summer 4-8pm is quiet since most big tour boats stop running you can have a much more majestic experience.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$359
  • Expedia.com
    $422
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Official Site
    $395
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $203
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.3 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $77
  • Agoda.com
    $69
0.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free parking
Garden View
Booking.com
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $265
  • Expedia.com
    $273
0.4 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
    $115
1.0 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Agoda.com
    $227
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
70
51
16
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
51
16
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I booked here having read many reviews about how helpful and friendly the hosts were. If it didn't have the same name, I would have thought they were talking about some place else.
The property operates on 8.30 till 5pm open hours. Never heard of that before in the motel industry.
Comfortable accommodation, handy laundry.Kitchen was "compact". The kitchen tap was turned off so hard, that I was unable to turn it on. Then when my husband turned it on, neither of us could get it to turn off properly, so there was a constant drip, drip, drip all day and night. Not a lot of fun when you are in a studio, and that dripping is in your sleeping space. At check out I explained this to the "foreign "guy behind the counter, and he just gave me a piece of paper to write it down. I think he may have very limited English, which is probably not ideal.
This was a good base for us to do our "Doubtful Sound Cruise", which was amazing.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguinlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very convenient location to Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound and Kepler track. Clean rooms with kitchenettes and everything you need. Walking distance to a supermarket, restaraunts and shops. Nice location for a lovely walk by the shore - nice walking path in town. Tony, the owner was most helpful. Always pleasant, smiling - he makes you feel at home. He also told us that he sold the place and later this year a new owner will be taking over. Hopefully, a tradition of excellent customer service will remain.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magdalena6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Could not fault this motel - apartment was spotless and the manager Tony, could not have been more helpful. Trip was a father/daughter trek on the Milford Track; Tony was happy to share invaluable insights (as he had done the track 3 times), gave really useful advice and booked them into the best restaurant in town when they got back, knowing they would be more than ready for a good meal after 3 days of rations. Wouldn't go anywhere else next trip.

Room tip: stayed in different rooms before and after track & both were great
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Alpenhorn Motel. Our expeditions we exceeded and we were pleased with every aspect of our stay. The suite was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Tony, the owner is friendly and super helpful. He booked our trip to Milford Sound and gave us good advice on our trip there, allowing us to see a lot. He will arrange all your bookings for you at no extra cost. He is passionate about the area and knows it well. So, this accommodation come highly recommended as good value.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Once again. The closer I traveled toward this National Park, the pricier the rooms became without an increase in quality. I stayed on for three nights. There was no cleaning service between days. They removed the rubbish. That's it. 4-5 TV channels to watch. Good thing the wifi worked so well. There's less expensive accommodations nearby that are just as basic.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews