We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$114
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mélanie B
Paris, France
really nice welcoming with lots of tips!
Review of Alpenhorn Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2017
This motel has everything to be a nice and pleasant motel : simple, but clean, with a small kitchen, a little piece of garden on the front, a really nice welcoming from the owner etc.
Our only and small black spot was the cleaning : no cleaning at all has be done during our stay. It was written that beds were not done, or that towels were not changed if not asked for green reasons, and that's really fine. But a little bit a vacuuming would have been appreciated, or it would have been nice to avoid to put the clean dishes drying in the sink with the dirty dishes...
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$361
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$131
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$258
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$275
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • travelup.com
    $267
0.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $235
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alpenhorn Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
70
51
16
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
51
16
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed here for two nights, and used it as our jump-off point for Milford Sound. Tony and Denise were very helpful in booking our Milford Sound cruise, and recommended a time to go. The kitchenette was functional, we used it to cook our dinner that we bought at a nearby grocery store. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DenverTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Booking - it was a breeze booking for the room on the website.
Location - a short walk away from the lake and city centre, very centrally located. we loved the walk through the park to the city centre.
Rooms - very clean and simple. just enough for what we need to stay two nights on our trip to the fiordlands.
Service - tony and his team were extremely lovely folks who welcomed us.

overall a very pleasant stay! can't wait to be back :)

Can't wait to be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rockjunkiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2016

3 of us had a Family unit for 2 nights as we needed 3 beds ! Very surprised at the spacious unit which had everything we needed. Very comfortable, clean, close to everything - the lakefront, town centre . A lovely small, very friendly motel ( plus a very friendly dog!!) and would certainly stay there again.

Room tip: If unsure, email the motel direct.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Trish005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Friendly and helpful staff with good info on walks and the rooms were light and spacious and quite large. It's around a ten min walk to town and there was a nice garden outside our room. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Always hard booking somewhere to stay when you haven't been to the town before. Was absolutely delighted with this motel though, ok it isn't the flashest but you are not paying flash prices either. The bed was super comfy, the unit had everything we needed and we were happy here. Tony the host was such a happy man and nothing seemed to be a bother. Katy the dog was super cute too. Recommend this place and would stay here again if we ever came back to Te Anau

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews