We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$267
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Hotels.com
$246
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$267
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
211
104
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
211
104
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound town centre great advice queen bed spacious room the kitchen electric blankets stayed two nights new zealand stayed longer first floor cooking facilities kepler track south island mary nigel motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

This was a great stay. The unit was large and very clean. It opened on to a patio with chairs and table with a gazebo across the lawn. The flowers were very pretty and there were many birds.
Super convenient to restaurants, grocery and the lakefront.
There was a kitchen with dishes and cookware.
We didn’t do the breakfast for $10 as we wanted to eat out.
I’d stay again

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank orygungal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

I had stayed at this hotel with my family (wife and two boys, ages 9 and 12) as part of our South Island road trip.

Our 2 bedroom unit was fairly spacious and could accommodate a family of six. The kitchen was fully equipped as well.

The unit had easy access to a large garden in front and the surroundings were peaceful and quiet. It felt that we were in a nice residential neighbourhood, with walking access to the town centre.

The bathroom was bit of a let down. The flush toilet was in a separate, very small room. The shower booth did not have glass wall (just a curtain) so the whole bathroom would get flooded.

Overall, it was a decent stay.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AI_Dhakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

The host was super friendly and attentive! She made us feel very welcome upon arrival and provided a lot of information to help us around. From the outside, we couldn't tell how spacious the room was! Decent area for kitchenette and bathroom. Very spacious living room with 1 queen bed and 1 single bed plus sofa and dining area. The beds were very comfortable with adjustable heating. Room and toilet were very clean with good amount of towels. Wifi was a bit spotty at times and would be better if there is more space in the shower area to place more bottles. Anyway these are just minor issues. Overall, it was a great stay for 3 nights!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JenTayHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2023

My wife and I took a self drive touring holiday on South Island New Zealand from the 17th March to the 11th April 2023. Apart from the first 2 nights and the last night where we stayed in a hotel in Christchurch we were self catering and stayed in accommodation that offered cooking facilities. I have reviewed each of the hotel/motels we stayed in. The following reviews cover the accommodation and some of the facilities/visits we made on the trip.
If you would like to view the rest of the reviews please click on my username and all my reviews will be listed.
9th to 12th days of our self drive tour of South Island March/April 2023
Asure Exporer Motel Te Anau.
We stayed at the Explorer Motel for four nights from 23rd to 27th March.
Welcome. We were welcomed by the owner Mary who gave us some milk. Mary showed us two different apartments and gave us a choice of which one to take. We took a room on the first floor. Mary was very nice and provided us with a lot of information about the area, the various trips and where to eat including The Te Anau Club. This is a type of working mens club, but open to non members. (See my separate review)
Mary kindly booked us on a trip to Marlborough Sound for the following day.
Service. Both Nigel and Mary were very accommodating. Nigel carried our suitcases up the stairs for us. Our room was serviced every day and the cleaner even cleared and put away our washing up.
Location. The Motel is located on the edge of the town centre. There are a number of restaurants and a medium size supermarket about 5 minutes walk away.
Comfort. The room was quite large, one of the largest we stayed in on our trip. It was very nice. It was light and airy and decorated to a high standard. It contained a king bed, a queen bed, armchairs, a coffee table, a dining table and chairs and a kitchenette with microwave, standard fridge, cooking utensils and an electric frying pan. The unit did not have a hotplate but Nigel the co-owner provided us with a portable hotplate and two saucepans. We were able to cook all the meals we needed to.
There was a large flat screen TV.
The bathroom was nice and reasonably large with an excellent shower and electric wall heater.
The room had wide patio doors and a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the well kept garden.
Cleanliness. The room and bathroom were very clean. The bedding was clean and good quality. The towels were good quality.
WiFi. The WiFi was a bit patchy. Mary allowed me to use the motel’s private network so that I got a stronger signal. Mary and Nigel are planning to improve the Wifi network and have engaged a consultant to make improvements. So if you come to The Explorer Motel from now on the WiFi should be better.
Conclusion. Overall this was one of the best places we stayed at during our 4 week tour.. Comfortable, clean and the owners were very nice and accommodating. If we returned to Te Anau we would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

The room was very comfortable and tidy. The hosts were very welcoming. Close to town and lake. We forgot that Easter Friday you could not purchase alcohol so the host delivered beer to our room. Which a very nice gesture. I would recommend them to anyone wishing to travel to Te Anau.

Room tip: If going to Milford sound leave from Te Anau. Less travel time on the bus.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews