We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$150
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Janell T
Brisbane Region, Australia

Excellent Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2023
The room was very comfortable and tidy. The hosts were very welcoming. Close to town and lake. We forgot that Easter Friday you could not purchase alcohol so the host delivered beer to our room. Which a very nice gesture. I would recommend them to anyone wishing to travel to Te Anau.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: If going to Milford sound leave from Te Anau. Less travel time on the bus.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $250
0.3 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Tripadvisor
$116
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Tripadvisor
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $154
0.5 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Hotels.com
    $72
0.8 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free parking
Booking.com
$145
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $145
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $145
0.4 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $331
  • Expedia.com
    $360
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Asure Explorer Motel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
211
104
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
211
104
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound town centre great advice queen bed spacious room the kitchen electric blankets stayed two nights new zealand stayed longer first floor cooking facilities kepler track south island mary nigel motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2023

This motel is run and operated by a lovely couple, Mary & Nigel who take care of your every need before you arrive during the booking process, and then once you arrive at their motel they offer warm, friendly service. The room was absolutely lovely. Very large king studio on the 2nd floor. It was quiet, very well appointed, and super comfortable. We have found king beds rare in NZ so it was a very nice treat for us. The location is great. A very short 1 min walk to the lake, and about 3 mins walk across the park into the town centre. Nice to be able to park the car and walk to bars and restaurants. Would certainly stay again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cruzfool2005ft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023 via mobile

The welcome we received upon check in was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early, yet our room was ready and spotlessly clean. The room was large and airy and with a very comfortable bed. Although the kitchen units were old, they had been painted and re-furnished to a good standard in keeping with the rest of the pleasant modern decor. Everything worked as it should . The hotel is well within walkable distance to the town.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ColinL451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2023

We stayed two nights primarily to visit Milford Sound. From booking the accommodation to checking out, we could not have asked for more. The place is immaculate, Nigel and Mary can't do enough for you and our room was extremely comfortable and very well equipped.
Overall a great stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2023

Stayed two nights at the hotel which is an easy walk into town. Very clean, modern and spacious room. We asked for a continental breakfast one morning due to an early start to Milford Sound. It was great and plentiful which actually lasted us two mornings! We received an email prior to arrival advising the Te Anau restaurants were short staffed due to post-Covid and suggested we try and book into any restaurants prior to arriving. That was good advice. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms have no actual view, so a downstairs room would be fine especially as there are stairs to the top floor.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2023 via mobile

Staff are friendly, rooms were great, kitchenettes well supplied (including a little two burner cooktop in our studio).
Very conveniently located on the park and a five minute walk from a nice grocery store and lots of restaurants.
They have on-site laundry (save up your $2 coins) but check the hours it is available before planning your day.
Note if you need wifi it’s pretty slow: this could be a four star review for you.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 271ericat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews