We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jacquie S

Expansive view and quiet privacy just out of Te Anau

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2024
The setting of the Cottages is wonderful, just out of town but still quite close, and so the view and the night sky were lovely. Our cottage was very well appointed, and though we had one wet day, the garden was lovely to walk around, and we were greeted in the morning by the friendly cows. The hosts Maggie and Ian were helpful and friendly. Jacquie
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$358
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $358
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$214
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $214
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$233
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.9 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
$273
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $273
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$77
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$114
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $168
2.8 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
244
36
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
244
36
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages new zealand milford sound south island two nights bedroom cottage well appointed kitchen place to stay would definitely stay here again bed was comfortable fiordland national park glow worm caves hosts mountains town accommodation cows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely accommodation just outside of Te Anau. Quiet and peaceful. Stylish and comfortable interior with beautiful landscaping outside. I loved sitting on the front porch in the afternoon sun and then watching sunset over the mountains from the same location. Wonderful, relaxing stay. Highly recommend,

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024

We loved our stay at Blue Thistle Cottages! We were warmly greeted by Maggie, and shown to our cottage, which overlooks beautiful green pastures with cows. It was a gorgeous, quiet setting. The cottage itself has everything you need, and is spacious, very clean, tidy and comfortable, with a real country homey feel. The beds are comfortable and rooms quiet. It's about a 10 minute drive into the main town (so you'd need a car). It was a refreshing stay that feels like you are at home, after staying in a view hotel/motels just prior.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melk2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023

We rented 2 cabins for a group of 4, and really enjoyed this place. The hosts, Maggie and Ian, were so friendly and helpful that we felt like friends and family with them. The grounds are lovely and quiet. It's so nice to have a living room and kitchenette. Everything was spic and span clean. The cottages are just off the main highway and within a few minutes of Te Anau shopping, restaurants, etc. I strongly recommend Blue Thistle if you're staying in Te Anau or wanting to go to Milford Sound (which has very little lodging available). The views from the cabins are lovely mountainsides.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EllenLovesHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2023

Maggie and Ian are just the most incredible hosts. The cottages are just gorgeous and so comfortable. It's such a great location, being just a 4-5 mins drive into the main street but set back enough that it's very private and quiet. The views of the mountains are just beautiful, and being set back and slightly up on a hill gives you the whole perspective. Feeding the cows and the lambs was such a treat, too. I will 100% be back. Thanks, Maggie and Ian, for such an incredible stay. Emma xx

Room tip: Be sure to set your camera up for the night skies and the amazing rainbows
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Journey64231402465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

This is a wonderful place to stay when you want to see the Glow Worm Caves. Also it is only a 2 hour drive to Milford Sound. Room was clean, well appointed kitchen.Bed was very comfortable, roomy shower. Maggie was so very helpful with advise about the surrounding area. She will even take you to see to her cows.
If you plan to go to Milford Sound stay here and avoid the 4 hour ride from Queenstown. Tour buses from Queenstown stop here to pick up passengers.

Room tip: Stay here if you're planning to visit Milford Sound. It is 2 hours from Te Anau, but 4 hours from Queenstown. All coaches pass thru Te Anau.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews