We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Journey64231402465

The most incredible stay and views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Sept 2023
Maggie and Ian are just the most incredible hosts. The cottages are just gorgeous and so comfortable. It's such a great location, being just a 4-5 mins drive into the main street but set back enough that it's very private and quiet. The views of the mountains are just beautiful, and being set back and slightly up on a hill gives you the whole perspective. Feeding the cows and the lambs was such a treat, too. I will 100% be back. Thanks, Maggie and Ian, for such an incredible stay. Emma xx
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Be sure to set your camera up for the night skies and the amazing rainbows
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$225
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
$274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
$70
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
$129
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $151
2.8 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $353
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Blue Thistle Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
244
36
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
244
36
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages new zealand milford sound south island two nights bedroom cottage well appointed kitchen place to stay would definitely stay here again bed was comfortable fiordland national park glow worm caves hosts mountains town accommodation cows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2023

This is a wonderful place to stay when you want to see the Glow Worm Caves. Also it is only a 2 hour drive to Milford Sound. Room was clean, well appointed kitchen.Bed was very comfortable, roomy shower. Maggie was so very helpful with advise about the surrounding area. She will even take you to see to her cows.
If you plan to go to Milford Sound stay here and avoid the 4 hour ride from Queenstown. Tour buses from Queenstown stop here to pick up passengers.

Room tip: Stay here if you're planning to visit Milford Sound. It is 2 hours from Te Anau, but 4 hours from Queenstown. All coaches pass thru Te Anau.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

The location was perfect only a couple of hours to Milford Sound in a nice quite location. With plenty of walks locally The accommodation was great with a a lounge , kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating parking right outside your cabin.
No hesitation in recommending this to anyone do spend a few days around Te Anau there is a lot to be seen

Room tip: Make sure you book at the restaurant of your choice it is difficult to just walk in and get a table
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grumpy1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023

We absolutely loved our stay at Blue Thistle cottages. It certainly exceeded our expectations. Maggie and Ian were so lovely warm and kind even took us into town and rang us to see if we needed to be picked up. Nothing was too much trouble. The grounds are immaculate and the environment is so quiet, peaceful and relaxing we had a lovely picnic lunch in the garden when we arrived. Our cottage was delightful. So clean cosy and comfortable with everything we needed. Had the best nights sleep dozing off listening to the rain. Booking was simple and hassle free. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to family and friends.
Pam and Colin

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023

We felt right at home staying here. The bed was very comfortable and we had lots of privacy when sitting in the outdoor space outside. Conveniently located but a little out of the town itself. The eating area inside the cottage was a good size. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2023

My adult son and I toured the southern South Island for 3 weeks, and the best accommodation we had was at The Blue Thistle Cottages in Te Anau!
We had just spent Christmas Day in Milford Sound on a cruise, followed by a strenuous hike and had not booked a stay for the night. Maggie welcomed us warmly and generously!
The cottages are updated, very clean and well- appointed, The beds are incredibly comfortable and the private landscaped yards offer great views of the mountain vistas. We were so grateful and lucky the next night was also available! Happy New Year and Thank You for your hospitality, Maggie and Ian!!

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank cshiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews