We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
229
35
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
229
35
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages milford sound comfortable cottage views of the mountains five minute drive lovely hosts tv channels the kitchen our honeymoon stayed longer close to town rachel accommodation fiordland paddock cooking christchurch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2021 via mobile

Had an absolutely lovely stay. The cottage was clean and furbished really well, with all the amenities to be fully self contained. Had a lovely welcome from the owner when we arrived, and enjoyed the beautiful views from our cottage. It's also only a few minutes drive from the centre of Te Anau so a great location, but quiet and peaceful too. Really well priced for what was included, only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room tip: Say hi to Dot Dot the cat for me!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Escape40681668981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Lowrey, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the peace and quiet. It was a shame that you couldn't stay longer, maybe next time. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2021 via mobile

Blue Thistle Cottage was a delightful place to stay offering excellent, clean and comfortable facilities. From our cottage we had a partial view of Lake Te Anau and relaxing countryside. Close to the great eateries on offer in Te Anau and on the road directly leading to Milford Sound. We would certainly return to Blue Thistle Cottages and can highly recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Goodfoodkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Lowrey, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and your recommendation. We hope to see you again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Great communication. Lovely cottage with nice homely touches - being able to wrap up in warm dressing gowns after a cold day exploring was perfect! Amazing views of the snowy peaks opposite. Quiet, peaceful spot a few minutes out of town.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank KarenS9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Lowrey, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you Karen. I am delighted that you enjoyed the view from your cottage and managed to get everything completed on your list of to do's in Te Anau. I agree, there is nothing better than a warm fluffy dressing gown after a cold day of exploring. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

The cottage and Owner was really nice. When we went out for the evening the owner we came back to find the outside light turned on for us and the heaters on to make our stay the bit better. The cottages are just outside town so you can appreciate the night sky and the quiet of being away from traffic and other people.

Room tip: Great quiet retreat
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillerBobNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Lowrey, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. It's always nice to be able to return to your room and find it nice and warm. And it is wonderful that we had a clear night for you to be able to do a bit of star gazing. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

We stayed here a few nights two years ago but came back this year for seven nights. It's very comfortable, clean and quiet -- and the service was perfect and personal. We love the farm setting and that it's a short drive out of Te Anau. It's very peaceful and makes for great stargazing. It was an ideal base for us to explore the area and take advantage of all the great day hikes.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel Lowrey, Owner at Blue Thistle Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

It was our pleasure to have you back to stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful comments. It's nice to hear when our guests get to stargaze from the veranda of the cottages, I look up every night when I take Danny(our dog) to his kennel, and the stars never cease to amaze me. All the best, and maybe we will see you again in another two years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews